ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Recent Posts
Chinese motors rated 220 v 50 hertz
by gfretwell - 07/23/24 04:45 PM
100 Definitions: Accessible 2023
by gfretwell - 07/23/24 10:12 AM
100 Definitions, Likely to Become Energized, 2023
by gfretwell - 07/23/24 10:08 AM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by emolatur - 07/18/24 01:05 PM
2023 CEU Course
by gfretwell - 07/17/24 01:08 AM
Advertisement:-Left
Recent Gallery Topics:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (InspE), 437 guests, and 32 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#162024 04/12/07 12:03 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 231
R
RobbieD Offline OP
Member
I know that if you are using stranded conductors with more then 7 strands you must bunch tin them or use a proper compression clamp. My question is WRT the wires in the Fire Alarm devices.

Say for example a listed device such as a supervised sprinkler valve. Inside the listed device is a micro switch with stranded copper conductors. Must these also be tinned even though it is a listed device or does that just apply to the condustors that we are bringing to the device?

I know that it would make sense to tin them but if it is required then why don't the manufacturers do it?

Just wondering if i have to get the soldering iron out to tin the conductors that are part of the listed assembly. Any help appreciated.

Thanks!

Horizontal Ad
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 183
J
Member
What I usually use is the crimp on wire caps if I am bringing stranded wire to the device, this covers the rule, I believe, since all wires are covered under an appropriate crimped connector. I also find stranded wires from the factory come tinned, unless you cut the wire and loose the tinned end.

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 231
R
RobbieD Offline OP
Member
Still asking the question.
These wires were not cut, that is the way they came with the valve.

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 141
C
Member
I always tin any stranded conductors and usually even go so far as to solder the stranded to the solid before putting on a wire nut. It does take a few more minutes to do, but I know the connection will not likely provide an opportunity for future corrosion and problems with intermittent troubles down the road.

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 787
L
Member
Originally Posted by Check Pilot
I always tin any stranded conductors


One thing to watch out for when tinning stranded conductors, using them under a compression style connector can result in the failure of the connection. The soldered bundle of wire strands may fracture and break apart under compression, resulting in a loose connection.

I use the soft copper ferrules when terminating small stranded wires (16-24 AWG) in control panels for industrial applications.

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 947
T
twh Offline
Member
If you solder the wires together, in the device, how do you separate the wires during the verification process?


Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertisement:-Right

* * * * * * *
Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 
* * * * * * *

2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC + Exam Prep Study Guides Now Available!

Member Spotlight
JoeKP
JoeKP
Berkley, MA
Posts: 144
Joined: March 2008
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
323,575 Are you busy
247,890 Re: Forum
231,670 Need opinion
New Page 2
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5