ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Changing a Bulb
by gfretwell. 07/14/18 03:12 PM
Tray cable?
by gfretwell. 07/11/18 10:18 PM
Eaton Heavy Duty 30A and 60A Safety Switches
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:49 PM
ORTOVOX Recalls Avalanche Transceivers
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:44 PM
Tingle off the water spigot
by gfretwell. 07/08/18 12:58 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 13 guests, and 13 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
satellite internet #160503
08/01/06 10:14 PM
08/01/06 10:14 PM
H
highground  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 53
Chama, NM
I am wiring a house where the owners wish to have satellite internet and distribute throughout the home. This is a new one to me.
Any help?
Two coax from dish to com cabinet.
Two coax from com cabinet to computer/modem/router location
And then distribute from router via cat 5

Am I on the right track?
Thanks

Study Guides for VDV / Structured Cabling Installers

Voice, Data, Video, (VDV) Fiber Optics, Communications, Low Voltage,
Fire Alarm, Electronic Security Systems Installations & Related

NTC Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides
Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides

Re: satellite internet #160504
08/02/06 12:09 AM
08/02/06 12:09 AM
T
trobb  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 110
Iowa City, IA
Just a heads-up. Cat5e is the current standard and costs the same as Cat5, but with better design will often get more reliable transmission. Beyond that I know little specific to satellite internet (not really covered in CCNA).

Re: satellite internet #160505
08/02/06 09:58 AM
08/02/06 09:58 AM
H
hbiss  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 886
Hawthorne, NY USA
I believe sat internet uses CAT5 (or whatever the latest iteration is) to the electronics on the dish. I would check with the installer before assuming anything. That's who to ask.

-Hal

Re: satellite internet #160506
09/03/06 04:04 PM
09/03/06 04:04 PM
G
golf junkie  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 507
York, NE
The systems that we have locally use a special co-ax from the dish to the modem. Not sure what it is but it is definitely not RG-6 or RG-59.

The modem can be internal or external to the PC. Internals are PCI and the coax connects direct to the PCI card. Externals are stand alone boxes, the box connects to the PC or LAN switch with a Cat 5 patch cord.

I wouldn't even consider wiring anything until the satelite provider came up with some specs.

Re: satellite internet #160507
09/03/06 09:42 PM
09/03/06 09:42 PM
A
A-V Pro  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
The type of coax most commenly used for satellite internet systems is Quad Shield RG-6. The coax (2 runs) is run between the dish and the modem. The modem is then connected to a computer or computers using an ethernet(cat 5) cable. Most newer modems have built in support for multiple computer use. Some even have a small hub installed in the modem. Hope this helps shed some light...


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Attic Rat
Attic Rat
Bergen Co.,N.J. USA
Posts: 524
Joined: December 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 5
Popular Topics(Views)
248,100 Are you busy
185,547 Re: Forum
174,846 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.020s Queries: 14 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9713 MB (Peak: 1.1099 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-07-17 11:24:59 UTC