ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Where is Everyone?
by Jim M - 06/23/21 10:04 PM
Happy Father's Day!
by Bill Addiss - 06/19/21 04:16 PM
A Risky Setup
by timmp - 06/18/21 08:08 PM
Conduit over Vinyl Siding
by Jim M - 06/16/21 08:30 PM
Updated Forum Software
by Admin - 06/15/21 10:23 AM
New in the Gallery:
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
by Bill Addiss, April 29
Garden 2021
Garden 2021
by Bill Addiss, April 26
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 46 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#141009 05/27/04 05:37 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 112
P
Member
Bad day to today, wont bore you alll with the details but the local power company moved the meters and cutouts on the job we are carrying out, to a temporay posistion, it has a 2 phase supply, they only reconnectd me across 2 phases, and then left with out noticing.

not good, in fact could have killed some one at worst..it has only blown up all my flourescent lights in the loft.

lesson here for all of us,, i loop tested the supply after they had left and all was well ,, i must have the only loop tester to work on 415v ( unless you know different)also those little ole socket testers will show all is well on 415v..

how do you submit pics to this forum,, in 2 weeks i start this job and you wont belive what the the owner has done, so would like to share it with you..
this is somthing you just dont expect..

[This message has been edited by PaulCornwall (edited 05-27-2004).]

#141010 05/27/04 05:47 PM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
Member
You mean they neglected to connect the neutral? That could be nasty, especially if it's PME.

If you already have some webspace to keep your images, you can link to them in a post with the appropriate UBB tags. Have a look here for details.

If you don't have any webspace or can't spare it, just e-mail the images to me and I'll put them on ECN's server for you.

#141011 05/28/04 02:54 AM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 186
A
Member
Paul-C,I take it that they connected the neutral to a phase, giving you 400 at all outlets. Nasty! The I use the new Mwgger MFT 1500 multi-function tester and that will let you test across 400 P/P. I also use Chauvin Arnoux C.A 6115 that's a great piece of kit (except for the mile long leads that have to be untangled before every test). You can set all sorts of parameters in it and as soon as you hook it up it bleeps and spits at you if something is on the line that it does not like.

#141012 05/28/04 06:40 AM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,407
Member
Hang on a sec Paul Cornwall,
If you had 415V at your fittings, would that not mean that a Neutral had been left out and swapped for a Phase conductor?.
2 Phase 400V is quite common here in the country for Ranges and other heavy loads.
Are your Power Authorities, not required to do a polarity test after they energise an installation, temporary or not?. [Linked Image]

#141013 05/28/04 01:36 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 112
P
Member
Yep its has two phase's and neutral of course,, thats right trumpy, they connected my neutral to the second phase,

In there defence, i loop tested the earth rod and on my loop tester it also shows polarity, which showed ok, across 400v, not sure how thats happened, so the assumption was all was ok..

But to answer your question they didnt check polarity..


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Attic Rat
Attic Rat
Bergen Co.,N.J. USA
Posts: 524
Joined: December 2003
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 10
Popular Topics(Views)
280,476 Are you busy
213,562 Re: Forum
200,434 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5