ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Where is Everyone?
by gfretwell - 06/20/21 10:53 PM
Happy Father's Day!
by Bill Addiss - 06/19/21 04:16 PM
A Risky Setup
by timmp - 06/18/21 08:08 PM
Conduit over Vinyl Siding
by Jim M - 06/16/21 08:30 PM
Updated Forum Software
by Admin - 06/15/21 10:23 AM
New in the Gallery:
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
by Bill Addiss, April 29
Garden 2021
Garden 2021
by Bill Addiss, April 26
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 15 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#140266 02/23/04 09:09 AM
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,498
C
C-H Offline OP
Member
Question for you guys down under.

I found this page on the net:
http://www.ess.govt.nz/yellowbg/faq_i_electricity.asp


---
Q. Is a 27/25 amp MCB suitable to protect 10 amp socket outlets in final subcircuits?

A. Yes, provided that maximum voltage drop and the cable maximum current rating (when de-rated for thermal insulation) is not exceeded, a 27/25 amp MCB is permitted. The requirement for the protective device rating to not exceed twice the socket outlet rating has been deleted from the Electricity Regulations 1997.
----

A 27A MCB??? Isn't that a rather unusual size?

#140267 02/23/04 12:22 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 289
:
Member
now how does that work?
a 25A MCB for fusing a 10A Receptacle?
Now what if the Socket gets loaded with 25A due to improper Extension cords use ect?

our outlets here are 16A, and they are never fused >16A.

#140268 02/23/04 09:42 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,250
D
djk Offline
Member
Radial socket circuits in Ireland are either 16A or 20A.

#140269 02/24/04 07:35 AM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
Member
Never heard of a 25 or a 27A MCB.

Standard MCBs here these days are 6, 10, 16, 20, 32, 40A (the 6, 16, and 32 sizes used to be 5, 15, and 30A).

Radial socket arrangements recognized by the IEE may be on 20 or 32A radials, but of course BS1363 then has a fuse in the plug.

Our old BS546 5A outlets could be wired on a circuit rated up to 15A.

#140270 02/24/04 02:28 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 289
:
Member
i know about the radials and the fused plugs. But i think 10A outlet should mean that its contact are made for a 10A flow max.

25 A Breakers are common in Germany. But never heard of a 27.
usual sizes: 6 10 13 16 20 25 32 40 50 63...


[This message has been edited by :andy: (edited 02-24-2004).]

#140271 02/25/04 08:22 AM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
Member
It's a valid point Andy. With the multiple adapters that were common here in BS546 days, it would have been quite easy for someone to load a 5A outlet up to 15A, although in the case of BS546 the 5A connectors would probably carry 15A without any problems anyway.

By the way, a few manufacturers here (e.g. MK) now opffer a 3A MCB as well, for separate smoke alarm circuits, bell chime transformers, etc.

#140272 02/25/04 10:54 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,250
D
djk Offline
Member
PaulUK:

I think Ireland had it's own slightly strange implementation of BS546. I've never seen a multiple adaptor for anything other than the 15A socket outlets.

In general there were no 5A sockets installed. The odd 2A was used high up the wall flush mounted beside a shelf for the "wireless" [Linked Image]

They were generally wired to 16A radial circuits. Much like the European practice with schuko.

Quite difficult to overload one of those outlets though... totally over engineered.

It was quite common to find tiny appliences with a huge BS546 plug attached. or a rewirable grounded schuko.

#140273 02/25/04 05:42 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 289
:
Member
6A is not the lowest available breaker. Usual din rail breakers from ABB or Siemens are available down to 0,5A.

#140274 02/26/04 08:29 AM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,407
Member
Wow!.
I don't know what they've been smoking at the Electrical Safety Service these days!. [Linked Image]
But, let's just get one thing straight here,
There is no way that any Electrician here would run a 10A socket-outlet on a 25A breaker, that's for sure.
Even though a circuit like this would be run in 1.5mm(16A) or 2.5mm cable(20A), the loss of the rule mentioned above, opens the whole subject up to a dangerous situation with cables being overloaded beyond their design loadings.
BTW, the 27A MCB was used for 4mm before we changed over to (ahem) International fusing sizes.
And 25A, is still only allowed for 4mm and very short runs of 2.5mm to permanently connected appliances.

[This message has been edited by Trumpy (edited 02-26-2004).]

#140275 02/27/04 07:17 AM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
Member
Quote
I think Ireland had it's own slightly strange implementation of BS546. I've never seen a multiple adaptor for anything other than the 15A socket outlets.
Did you not have the adapters to allow multiple 5A BS546 plugs to be connected to a 15A outlet? They were pretty common here. as were the ones which were all 5A, i.e. a 5A 3-pin plug to a 5A 3-pin socket plus two 5A 2-pin sockets, or a multiple 5A 2-pin.

Quote
BTW, the 27A MCB was used for 4mm before we changed over to (ahem) International fusing sizes.
Although for radial circuits 20A is the most usual here, at least in residential work, the Regs. allow a 30A cartridge fuse or 30/32A MCB to be used for a radial circuit wired in 4 sq. mm. Rewireable 30A fuses are not permitted for such radials however.



[This message has been edited by pauluk (edited 02-27-2004).]


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
The Watt Doctor
The Watt Doctor
Mont Belvieu, TX
Posts: 437
Joined: December 2001
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 10
Admin 10
Popular Topics(Views)
280,448 Are you busy
213,527 Re: Forum
200,406 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5