ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Safety at heights?
by gfretwell - 04/23/24 03:03 PM
Old low volt E10 sockets - supplier or alternative
by gfretwell - 04/21/24 11:20 AM
Do we need grounding?
by gfretwell - 04/06/24 08:32 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 166 guests, and 8 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4
#138795 09/30/03 07:19 AM
T
I long ago stopped caring how people spell my name.

Yeah, me too. I graduated from High School with honors, so I got to a session with our district mayor where I got an impressing looking certificate, which is actually good for nothing except for hanging it above my sofa... and besides it spells my name "Rognar"!

Hmmm, lemme think about those words. Almost all of them either aren't German words or are horribly misspelled. Fried is English, but definitely not German, apple, thrasher and banger probably too. Horowitz is a jewish name. Spelterwasser could be Selterswasser, some ,kind of mineral water. Bahnwagen is railway car. "gutenabend bitte ein nurnburger bratwustle" would be "Guten Abend, bitte ein Nürnberger Bratwürstl", "Good evening, a Nürnberg (city in Germany) style sausage please."

(remainder of translation edited to keep PG Rating)

[This message has been edited by Webmaster (edited 10-01-2003).]

#138796 09/30/03 06:39 PM
P
Oh dear -- The perils of making up words to mock another language and accidentally stumbling upon something offensive. Do you think I should edit out anything here?

. Fried is English, but definitely not German, apple, thrasher and banger probably too