ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 255 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
#132749 08/11/01 06:09 AM
P
pauluk Offline OP
Hi everyone:

I'm an engineer in England and came across your board quite by accident a couple of weeks ago.

I have spent time in the States, and although I don't know the details of the NEC, I am familiar with your general wiring practices, etc.

It's really interesting to read your messages and compare the topics and problems being discussed with the sort of problems we run up against here in the U.K.

If anyone is curious about any aspect of how things are done over here, I'd be happy to oblige.

#132750 08/11/01 06:28 AM
S
Hi Paul;
tell us a little about wiring methods in the UK please, maybe some differences that you've seen would be interesting.
[Linked Image]

#132751 08/11/01 08:41 AM
Paul,

Welcome!
Yes, by all means share with us. I've heard that circuits are connected in a "Ring" How does that work and what are the benefits or downsides in doing that?

[Linked Image]
Bill

Bill
#132752 08/11/01 01:00 PM
My welcome as well!
I'm quite intrigued with the way things are wired in different places.
Don't you have some sort of fusing at the point of use?

#132753 08/11/01 06:38 PM
P
pauluk Offline OP
Hi Sparky,