ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Switched Receptacles -Top or Bottom?
by gfretwell - 07/28/21 10:06 PM
Lowes Selling this fan
by timmp - 07/25/21 10:58 PM
How's all our Non-US folks doing?
by djk - 07/23/21 09:13 PM
Do You Travel?
by Bill Addiss - 07/20/21 04:26 PM
Backup Generator Done Right
by timmp - 07/18/21 12:20 PM
New in the Gallery:
February, North East Indiana
February, North East Indiana
by timmp, July 25
Red Green would be proud
Red Green would be proud
by timmp, July 25
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 11 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#131975 12/30/04 03:39 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,407
Likes: 2
Trumpy Offline OP
Member
After having a few problems with IE6 in the last week or 2, I decided to get myself a new web-browser and move right away from the Microsoft provided browser.
So, I got myself Mozilla Firefox 1.0 and so far it's going OK, but for some wierd reason it's not refreshing the ECN Forum list when I visit here, I could have overlooked something in the Set-up options.
Does anyone else use this Browser?.
For those that are curious as to what I'm actually on about, try this link here .

{Message edited to add link}

[This message has been edited by Trumpy (edited 12-30-2004).]

#131976 01/06/05 02:32 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 276
T
Member
I use mozilla (the linux version) and it works fine for ECN..no trouble at all.. only thing I wish was different would be the web-based ECN chatroom.. moz doesnt like it too well for some reason, which means I have to reboot into windows and use (ugh!) IE....

#131977 01/06/05 04:14 AM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 9
T
Junior Member
I use an old version of Mozilla, on it I think the setting you want is under edit\preferences\advanced\cache, where the question is "compare the page in the cache to the page on the network:" and the answer is "every time I view the page"

I also set the cache to 1MB. Not sure why everything wants these huge caches.

#131978 03/28/05 03:37 AM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,407
Likes: 2
Trumpy Offline OP
Member
Only peeve that I have about Firefox, is that it takes a wee while to load on a Dial-up connection.
Trollog,
Quote
only thing I wish was different would be the web-based ECN chatroom.. moz doesnt like it too well for some reason, which means I have to reboot into windows and use (ugh!) IE..
I've used Firefox to access the ECN Chat rooms since I've had it here and have never struck a problem with it.
What's the problem?. [Linked Image]

#131979 04/30/05 04:44 AM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,407
Likes: 2
Trumpy Offline OP
Member
Wow!,
I've just struck my first problem with FireFox.
There are no icons in the top toolbar now(just words) and when you click on the menus, they drop down, but the menu is blank.
Which means I can't change between "Themes".
Any FF users ever had this problem?.
Second question being, how on earth am I going to fix this?.
I tried un-installing the program and then re-installing it but that made no difference.
Hellpp!.

#131980 04/30/05 09:06 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,407
Likes: 2
Trumpy Offline OP
Member
Sorry a bit of a false alarm actually.
What happened was, I downloaded some new themes the other day and one of the files was corrupted and wouldn't work properly, I only found this out once it was loaded and I couldn't exit that particular theme.
A note for Firefox users however, if you have any problems with the browser, you can start Firefox in it's own Safe-Mode (Click on FF in your Start Menu, it's under the normal mode).
I only just learned this this morning.
Anyhow, it's all back to normal here.
Another thing I did learn too, is the fact that there is a rather prolific Support forum at the Mozilla site itself, if you get stuck. [Linked Image]

#131981 05/06/05 01:45 AM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,407
Likes: 2
Trumpy Offline OP
Member
On ADSL, this browser really loads fast!.
It's all that!!!. [Linked Image]


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
electure
electure
Fullerton, CA USA
Posts: 4,287
Joined: December 2000
Top Posters(30 Days)
timmp 8
Rachel 4
djk 2
Popular Topics(Views)
281,585 Are you busy
215,223 Re: Forum
202,068 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5