ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 8
Recent Posts
OD of Alum and Copper
by HotLine1. 08/23/17 07:30 PM
Grid problem??
by annemarie1. 08/21/17 01:10 PM
Bathroom electrical
by doc. 08/19/17 06:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
240,156 Are you busy
175,803 Re: Forum
167,965 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 62 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#130728 - 11/11/06 03:14 PM Variable transformer  
ayrton  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 201
Pa
I am not familiar with these. Is it safe to assume it regulates voltage?
Running through the center of the three coils is a shaft, and attached to the top of the shaft are gears which drive a chain. I am not sure what it is doing.

The nameplate on the housing reads 'Input V 240 Hz 50-60 Ph3 Output V 0-280 Amps 250 KVA 121.

Now to calculate what this thing should be fed with, I usesd the formula KVAx1000/ Voltage (240) 121x1000=121000/240=504.16

They are feeding this with a Nema5 starter using 2/0 wire. If I am calculating right, shouldnt the ampacity of the wire be based on 504?

This variable transformer than feeds an oil filled transformer with output votages as high as 36kv.

It is in a drywalled room in an office suite. According to art 450 I beleive it needs to be in a vault.

But there are 7 exceptions. I do not know the KVA of the second tranformer.

Please help!


Tools for Electricians:

#130729 - 11/12/06 01:00 AM Re: Variable transformer  
Bob  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 182
Mobile, AL, USA


#130730 - 11/12/06 09:46 AM Re: Variable transformer  
ayrton  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 201
Pa
Thank you Bob. That was informative. I still am not sure on the feeder size.
Who can tell me if I am right when using the formula?
121kva @240v is 504amps. This is currently wired with 2/0


#130731 - 11/12/06 09:58 AM Re: Variable transformer  
LarryC  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 783
Winchester, NH, US
Quote
121kva @240v is 504amps


If you are single phase.
---------------------------------------------------------
But since you are three phase

KVA = V x A x sqr rt 3

KVA/(V x sqr rt 3) = A

121000/(240 x 1.73)= 291


#130732 - 11/14/06 05:39 AM Re: Variable transformer  
jraef  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 101
San francisco, CA, USA
Yes, but if the nameplate says 250A, it is 250A. That needs to be the basis for your fusing, so the wire need only be sized for the fused circuit.


JRaef

#130733 - 11/14/06 08:00 AM Re: Variable transformer  
SteveFehr  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,208
Chesapeake, VA
At the maximum voltage level of the transformer:

121kVA = 280V x 250A (3P).

To set the OCP for 291A @ 240V would allow the transformer to overload if it was adjusted to 280V. If this were a normal transformer and you could lug it to the 240V terminals, OCP can be sized for 291A, but in this case, 250A is required for safety.

[This message has been edited by SteveFehr (edited 11-14-2006).]



Member Spotlight
electure
electure
Fullerton, CA USA
Posts: 4,260
Joined: December 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.015s Queries: 14 (0.002s) Memory: 0.7764 MB (Peak: 0.9196 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-24 03:00:29 UTC