ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 260 guests, and 20 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
R
Hello:

I'm a retired electrical engineer, not in the trade, but will take the liberty of posting this question here, as I thought it might be of enough general interest to others. Also, with a hope that all the experts would chime in, as I'm really curious about this.

Have been thinking about this a bit, and realize I'm probably looking at it
the wrong way.

The other night we had a moderate lighning storm come thru.
Momentary loss of power; perhaps a few seconds.

The only damage was to a newly installed furnace's circuit board which got fried.
It obtains power in the normal way, via a hard wired, dedicated, 110 V branch back to a dedicated circuit breaker on the main panel.

The surprising thing is that nothing else was damaged; even the PC worked fine afterwards.

So, my questions are -

Let's assume that there is only only one cheap extension cord outlet strip
in the house that has MOV's for protection, and that the PC was plugged into it.

Let's also assume that it was connected to the L1 side of the 110V coming
from the Service Box, as well as perhaps a dozen or so other circuit breakers and branch circuits on L1.
(the 220 V service coming in being split into two 110 V sections, which I'll call
L1 & L2)