ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Israel
by annemarie1. 04/18/19 02:35 PM
Welded Copper Connections
by gfretwell. 04/17/19 10:03 PM
Water heater calculationsSo when I count calculati
by watersparkfalls. 04/13/19 12:43 PM
Health Canada Electric Construction heaters recall
by dougwells. 04/12/19 01:22 AM
Burning out of return(white) side of 120volt rec
by richard. 04/08/19 07:12 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 2 guests, and 6 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Start/Stop Station Rewire #119668
01/14/05 01:03 AM
01/14/05 01:03 AM
Admin  Offline
OP
Administrator
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,545
NY, USA
Quote
Here is a series of photos of a Start/Stop station for a 460VAC conveyor motor.

First one is a "before" shot. The 460 to 120V transformer secondary X2 is bonded to the frame of the transformer, but, apparently beacuse of the paint on the panel surface, there was approx 400 ohms resistance between this point, and the point at which the incoming ground and the motor ground were attached in the lower left corner.
[Linked Image]
Quote
Second pic is a close-up of the overload where the motor taps are connected. Tried to get the flash of the camera to illuminate them, but, there are indeed wires for the motor there. The starter is actually mounted on a din-rail, but the connections are about 1/4 inch from the bottom of the enclosure. No way of getting the wires out or in without removing the starter. And, this enclosure frequently gets wet inside.
[Linked Image]
Quote
Third pic is an "after" shot, after re-wiring. By using pushbuttons that took up less room in the enclosure, we were able to move the starter up and to the left. (The original PB's were so large that the original installer mounted the starter on the right, below the x-former/fuseblock so that the door would close, apparently did a "Woops" or "Oh well", being so close to the bottom of the enclosure.) "It's non-metallic, right?"

A co-worker and I originally started out intent on connecting all the ground wires at one single point, but, were so disgusted by the whole wiring job, that we ended up re-wiring the whole box.

I changed the buttons out and moved the rail and starter, co-worker Jeff R. did the re-wire.

Notice the char marks from some previous time!!! POW!!!

Barry P. (bp-redbear)
[Linked Image]

Tools for Electricians:
Re: Start/Stop Station Rewire #119669
01/14/05 12:31 PM
01/14/05 12:31 PM
E
electricman2  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 269
Thomasville, NC USA
Pic 3 sure looks better than the first two!
Nice. [Linked Image]


John
Re: Start/Stop Station Rewire #119670
01/14/05 01:26 PM
01/14/05 01:26 PM
dougwells  Offline

Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,152
kamloops BC Canada
The Control wiring looks like cab tire/SO cord. We could only use SO cord if the start/stop station was a hand held device as used for overhead crane work etc. But thats canada for you I guess [Linked Image]

Re: Start/Stop Station Rewire #119671
01/14/05 08:38 PM
01/14/05 08:38 PM
B
bp-redbear  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 51
NY
The conveyor that is controlled by this box is a portable unit that is moved daily (for clean-up/sanitation), and is cord and plug connected to a receptacle. (The box being mounted to the side of the conveyor.)


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Bill Addiss
Bill Addiss
NY, USA
Posts: 3,905
Joined: October 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
254,445 Are you busy
190,685 Re: Forum
180,402 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.021s Queries: 14 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9616 MB (Peak: 1.0928 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2019-04-19 08:31:41 UTC