ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Happy Thanksgiving
by gfretwell - 11/26/20 08:52 PM
Insulated Tools: A Waste of Money?
by HotLine1 - 11/26/20 12:28 PM
Ground fault remover :-)
by NORCAL - 11/26/20 08:13 AM
Work Gloves?
by sabrown - 11/25/20 01:54 PM
What does your work place look like?
by Lostazhell - 11/25/20 02:56 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 6 guests, and 15 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Start/Stop Station Rewire #119668 01/14/05 12:03 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,632
Admin Offline OP
Administrator
Member
Quote
Here is a series of photos of a Start/Stop station for a 460VAC conveyor motor.

First one is a "before" shot. The 460 to 120V transformer secondary X2 is bonded to the frame of the transformer, but, apparently beacuse of the paint on the panel surface, there was approx 400 ohms resistance between this point, and the point at which the incoming ground and the motor ground were attached in the lower left corner.
[Linked Image]
Quote
Second pic is a close-up of the overload where the motor taps are connected. Tried to get the flash of the camera to illuminate them, but, there are indeed wires for the motor there. The starter is actually mounted on a din-rail, but the connections are about 1/4 inch from the bottom of the enclosure. No way of getting the wires out or in without removing the starter. And, this enclosure frequently gets wet inside.
[Linked Image]
Quote
Third pic is an "after" shot, after re-wiring. By using pushbuttons that took up less room in the enclosure, we were able to move the starter up and to the left. (The original PB's were so large that the original installer mounted the starter on the right, below the x-former/fuseblock so that the door would close, apparently did a "Woops" or "Oh well", being so close to the bottom of the enclosure.) "It's non-metallic, right?"

A co-worker and I originally started out intent on connecting all the ground wires at one single point, but, were so disgusted by the whole wiring job, that we ended up re-wiring the whole box.

I changed the buttons out and moved the rail and starter, co-worker Jeff R. did the re-wire.

Notice the char marks from some previous time!!! POW!!!

Barry P. (bp-redbear)
[Linked Image]

Tools for Electricians:
Re: Start/Stop Station Rewire #119669 01/14/05 11:31 AM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 269
E
electricman2 Offline
Member
Pic 3 sure looks better than the first two!
Nice. [Linked Image]


John
Re: Start/Stop Station Rewire #119670 01/14/05 12:26 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,155
dougwells Offline
Member
The Control wiring looks like cab tire/SO cord. We could only use SO cord if the start/stop station was a hand held device as used for overhead crane work etc. But thats canada for you I guess [Linked Image]

Re: Start/Stop Station Rewire #119671 01/14/05 07:38 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 51
B
bp-redbear Offline
Member
The conveyor that is controlled by this box is a portable unit that is moved daily (for clean-up/sanitation), and is cord and plug connected to a receptacle. (The box being mounted to the side of the conveyor.)


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
cookcc
cookcc
California ,Long Beach
Posts: 28
Joined: May 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 9
Popular Topics(Views)
271,998 Are you busy
205,882 Re: Forum
193,943 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3