ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Ground fault remover :-)
by dsk - 11/30/20 03:51 AM
From an outsider- How does tipping work?
by Trumpy - 11/30/20 03:50 AM
Happy Thanksgiving
by Trumpy - 11/30/20 03:32 AM
Where is Everyone?
by Trumpy - 11/30/20 03:11 AM
What does your work place look like?
by Trumpy - 11/30/20 02:45 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 18 guests, and 15 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
No-Blow Fuses #108856 12/23/03 05:39 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,632
Admin Offline OP
Administrator
Member
[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]
Quote
Here are two pictures of a piece of equipment that came over from another one of our buildings. It's an air dryer for compressed air. As you can see, they didn't want to use fuses, so they came up with a more "practical" idea!!! We had the company photographer take these pictures so we could have this mess documented in case there were any problems with the equipment.
Unreal!!!

I, as well as my co-workers love your forums on code violations. It's unbelievable what some people will do.

-Joe Martell

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: No-Blow Fuses #108857 12/23/03 08:39 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,527
B
Bjarney Offline
Moderator
Those clips have to be stretched or squeezed...9/16-inch copper tubing doesn't exist.

But, there is a correct product for the job—Bussmann "NTN-R30" for 30A 250V swithces.




[This message has been edited by Bjarney (edited 12-23-2003).]

Re: No-Blow Fuses #108858 12/23/03 09:42 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2
J
joemar4 Offline
Junior Member
Let me make it clear that this is how the equiment came over from one of our other buildings and this is what we found when we came to do the electrical install. This is NOT how we left it. We wanted it documented that the equipment arrived like this, hence we had the company photographer take pictures.
We did the install and corrected any and all pre-existing violations, including changing the disconnect and installing the proper size fuses.
My point was how they could have run this equipment like this in our other building located in New Jersey.
Joe

Re: No-Blow Fuses #108859 12/23/03 10:17 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 269
E
electricman2 Offline
Member
I see a red, blue, black and white wire entering the top of the disco, but what appears to be one white wire leaving the short piece of EMT. Am I missing something? [Linked Image]


John
Re: No-Blow Fuses #108860 12/23/03 10:38 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,354
Trumpy Online Happy
Member
electricman2,
That White wire wouldn't be a neutral would it?.
That terminal block at the bottom of the disconnect looks like it's segregated from the metal panel, would this be where the neutral joins with another wire that loops down to the receptacle below?. [Linked Image]

Re: No-Blow Fuses #108861 12/24/03 03:07 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 394
B
Big Jim Offline
Member
It looks like kind of a sleazy setup overall but was a fused disconnect required where the equipment was previously installed?

Re: No-Blow Fuses #108862 12/24/03 11:13 AM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
pauluk Offline
Member
Quote
I see a red, blue, black and white wire entering the top of the disco, but what appears to be one white wire leaving the short piece of EMT. Am I missing something?

Looks to me as though the receptacle below the disco is tapped from the red phase and the main equipment is wired 208V delta with no neutral.

Re: No-Blow Fuses #108863 12/24/03 06:19 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 123
M
mvpmaintman Offline
Member
I've seen this done alot out here in the land of OZ. Usually on a roof mounted air handler. Found out that it was a crew run by the guy who is now my boss. He used to do this so that they could keep the units running and find the short when the wire burned up.

BTW, I am looking for other employment.

Re: No-Blow Fuses #108864 12/26/03 07:54 AM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,286
electure Offline
Member
Per Paul
>The receptacle below the disco is tapped >from the red phase.
I'd agree, but what's the little box in between the disco and the recp?
Does that contain a 5 amp Edison base fuse for the recp?

Re: No-Blow Fuses #108865 12/26/03 03:20 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,527
B
Bjarney Offline
Moderator
The middle box looks like a Bussmann SOU listed at http://www.bussmann.com/library/bifs/1129.pdf

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
TOOL_5150
TOOL_5150
Bay Area
Posts: 61
Joined: August 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 17
Popular Topics(Views)
272,108 Are you busy
206,006 Re: Forum
194,036 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3