ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Updated Forum Software
by Admin - 06/15/21 10:23 AM
Broken Outlet & Dangling Light
by LoneWolf - 06/14/21 08:21 PM
How's all our Non-US folks doing?
by C-H - 06/14/21 05:42 PM
Where is Everyone?
by Bill Addiss - 06/14/21 12:37 PM
Conduit over Vinyl Siding
by Bill Addiss - 06/14/21 12:35 PM
New in the Gallery:
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
by Bill Addiss, April 29
Garden 2021
Garden 2021
by Bill Addiss, April 26
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 40 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#108856 12/23/03 06:39 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,661
Likes: 1
Admin Offline OP
Administrator
Member
[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]
Quote
Here are two pictures of a piece of equipment that came over from another one of our buildings. It's an air dryer for compressed air. As you can see, they didn't want to use fuses, so they came up with a more "practical" idea!!! We had the company photographer take these pictures so we could have this mess documented in case there were any problems with the equipment.
Unreal!!!

I, as well as my co-workers love your forums on code violations. It's unbelievable what some people will do.

-Joe Martell

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
#108857 12/23/03 09:39 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,527
B
Moderator
Those clips have to be stretched or squeezed...9/16-inch copper tubing doesn't exist.

But, there is a correct product for the job—Bussmann "NTN-R30" for 30A 250V swithces.




[This message has been edited by Bjarney (edited 12-23-2003).]

#108858 12/23/03 10:42 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2
J
Junior Member
Let me make it clear that this is how the equiment came over from one of our other buildings and this is what we found when we came to do the electrical install. This is NOT how we left it. We wanted it documented that the equipment arrived like this, hence we had the company photographer take pictures.
We did the install and corrected any and all pre-existing violations, including changing the disconnect and installing the proper size fuses.
My point was how they could have run this equipment like this in our other building located in New Jersey.
Joe

#108859 12/23/03 11:17 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 269
E
Member
I see a red, blue, black and white wire entering the top of the disco, but what appears to be one white wire leaving the short piece of EMT. Am I missing something? [Linked Image]


John
#108860 12/23/03 11:38 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,407
Member
electricman2,
That White wire wouldn't be a neutral would it?.
That terminal block at the bottom of the disconnect looks like it's segregated from the metal panel, would this be where the neutral joins with another wire that loops down to the receptacle below?. [Linked Image]

#108861 12/24/03 04:07 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 394
B
Member
It looks like kind of a sleazy setup overall but was a fused disconnect required where the equipment was previously installed?

#108862 12/24/03 12:13 PM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
Member
Quote
I see a red, blue, black and white wire entering the top of the disco, but what appears to be one white wire leaving the short piece of EMT. Am I missing something?

Looks to me as though the receptacle below the disco is tapped from the red phase and the main equipment is wired 208V delta with no neutral.

#108863 12/24/03 07:19 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 123
M
Member
I've seen this done alot out here in the land of OZ. Usually on a roof mounted air handler. Found out that it was a crew run by the guy who is now my boss. He used to do this so that they could keep the units running and find the short when the wire burned up.

BTW, I am looking for other employment.

#108864 12/26/03 08:54 AM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,287
Member
Per Paul
>The receptacle below the disco is tapped >from the red phase.
I'd agree, but what's the little box in between the disco and the recp?
Does that contain a 5 amp Edison base fuse for the recp?

#108865 12/26/03 04:20 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,527
B
Moderator
The middle box looks like a Bussmann SOU listed at http://www.bussmann.com/library/bifs/1129.pdf

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Vlado
Vlado
Croatia
Posts: 28
Joined: February 2011
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 14
Trumpy 10
Popular Topics(Views)
280,364 Are you busy
213,440 Re: Forum
200,360 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5