ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Anybody comment on materials pricing?
by gfretwell - 06/10/21 01:33 PM
2 pole GFI feeding 1 and 2 pole loads
by gfretwell - 06/04/21 02:27 AM
Lock-down Thread
by HotLine1 - 06/01/21 08:15 AM
Updated Forum Software
by Admin - 05/31/21 12:09 AM
Square D "All-In-One" Panelboard
by HotLine1 - 05/29/21 12:13 PM
New in the Gallery:
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
by Bill Addiss, April 29
Garden 2021
Garden 2021
by Bill Addiss, April 26
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 35 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#102807 11/29/06 08:16 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 200
U
u2slow Offline OP
Member
I have an interesting project I've been brought into.

5 acre property. One main residence. One secondary mobile home (rental). One 5000sqft shop.

The main service will come into the shop. There is discussion over how it will be metered - i.e. how many meters, primary or secondary, etc. Another issue is building it to allow for a future genset & UPS - *mainly* for the primary residence, but some backup power for the rental and shop would be 'nice to have'.

So at least 3 different scenarios are on the table:

1) 2x primary metering. One for rental (100A). One for shop (300A). House is a sub off the main shop panel.

2) 2x secondary metering. 400A service in shop. 1 meter for rental. 1 meter for shop/house. Shop & house each have their own panel.

3) 3x primary metering (like duplex, but 3 meters). One individually metered service for each building.

Now I don't have enough experience with generators & transfer switches to see whch will be easiest to add backup power to, or what allowances would be good to do now.

Any input is appreciated.

#102808 12/04/06 10:01 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 31
M
Member
I have only worked on a couple of back up systems for our plant, not residential, but the feed from the poco comes in through the switch as does the generator and is monitored through the switch (if auto switch) then it could go out as you would like. You may want to look at your generator size first then how you would connect. This may not be very helpful but may start a string going.

#102809 12/11/06 12:45 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 200
U
u2slow Offline OP
Member
Thanks for the reply!

After a talking to a couple of other sparkies I know, I mostly went this way:

Quote

1) 2x primary metering. One for rental (100A). One for shop (300A). House is a sub off the main shop panel.

The 300A is now up to a full 400A to maximize the equipment. Separate triplex run in for the rental. I made sure there was a generous distance between the 400A splitter and the 200A switch (for the house) to accomodate a transfer switch and at a later date.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
dougwells
dougwells
kamloops BC Canada
Posts: 1,156
Joined: May 2003
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 11
Trumpy 10
Popular Topics(Views)
280,298 Are you busy
213,389 Re: Forum
200,330 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5