ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by Albert. 11/07/18 12:48 AM
Black & Decker Recalls Hammer Drills
by Admin. 11/01/18 07:22 PM
Having around 30 projectors to dump
by gfretwell. 10/31/18 10:54 PM
Installing a small swimming pool
by TimothyHallam. 10/30/18 10:42 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 10 guests, and 19 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Why switches,panel should be mounted on wood? #102281
12/26/05 09:43 PM
12/26/05 09:43 PM
P
peterpang  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 19
toronto
Why switches,panel should be mounted on a piece of fireproof wood when against concrete or brick wall?

I can not find any related requirements in the code.

Can somebody help me?

Appreciate your answers,thanks.

Tools for Electricians:
Re: Why switches,panel should be mounted on wood? #102282
12/27/05 01:15 AM
12/27/05 01:15 AM
U
u2slow  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 200
Salt Spring, BC, Canada
The salts found in concrete, and its ability to wick moisture will corrode the panel. I recall a discussion about this issue in 2nd-year school. I can't find anything in the CEC book though.

The 'fireproof' requirement may be referenced better in the Building Code. I have seen fire-resistant and painted regular plywood used for the purpose (perhaps fire rated paint satisfies the requirement?)

Re: Why switches,panel should be mounted on wood? #102283
12/27/05 10:45 AM
12/27/05 10:45 AM
S
Sandro  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 444
Stoney Creek, ON, Canada
We use plain plywood when mounting our stuff to concrete. No special treatments required. A few years ago, they required drywall in between the panel/switch and plywood, but last few years they eliminated that rule as the panels and switches are "enclosed" and supposed to suppress any fire. Hey, I don't write the codes, good enough for me.

Re: Why switches,panel should be mounted on wood? #102284
12/27/05 02:43 PM
12/27/05 02:43 PM
F
frank  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 376
windsor ontario canada
Interesting,we never use anything in industry.Bolt everything directly to concrete or block.To be honest Ive never looked for it in the code.Is it a damp location issue.The only time Ive seen wood is to have something to screw to for phone equipment etc.In not saying you don't need it.i just want to know the circumstances and where its applicable.Code rule # anyone
cheers

Re: Why switches,panel should be mounted on wood? #102285
12/27/05 07:49 PM
12/27/05 07:49 PM
S
Sandro  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 444
Stoney Creek, ON, Canada
Frank...yes, to clarify, for individual switches, we bolt directly to concrete/block. But typically, when we do a service from scratch, with main switches, mb, splitter, panels, etc. I like to use 1 or several 4x8 sheets of plywood. So much easier/faster screwing into wood.

Re: Why switches,panel should be mounted on wood? #102286
12/28/05 03:13 PM
12/28/05 03:13 PM
B
bigrockk  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 174
Middle of Canada
I have always used plywood to mount equipment wherever I am also using loomex to
wire (resi mostly). I work industrial now and it is the same as what Frank stated,everything straight on to the concrete or block.I have never taken fireproofing into consideration and have never had a violation for doing it this way.
Who knows maybe I have been missing something but I can't check for code rules as I am in a hotel in Winnipeg with no code book.(What was I thinking..lol)

Re: Why switches,panel should be mounted on wood? #102287
12/28/05 05:46 PM
12/28/05 05:46 PM
dougwells  Offline

Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,149
kamloops BC Canada
Speaking of Code Books when are they going to stop going up in price. The 2006 edition is going to be 135.00

And what they want for it on Disk is Just a money grab IMHO the last one was 295.00.
If a person buys the Code Book there should be a deal for the CD

[This message has been edited by dougwells (edited 12-28-2005).]

Re: Why switches,panel should be mounted on wood? #102288
12/28/05 07:56 PM
12/28/05 07:56 PM
B
bigrockk  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 174
Middle of Canada
At 135 bucks they should include a cd with the code book!

Re: Why switches,panel should be mounted on wood? #102289
12/28/05 08:01 PM
12/28/05 08:01 PM
P
peterpang  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 19
toronto
I guess it is a rule from the Canadian Building Code.I am not sure.

I realy want to see somebody clear this fuzzy wood,and tell us in what circumstance this fireproof wood must be installed.

Re: Why switches,panel should be mounted on wood? #102290
12/28/05 08:10 PM
12/28/05 08:10 PM
P
peterpang  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 19
toronto
295?!
I am thinking of buying PART I and PART II,so I have to pay maybe 500 bucks for these books?

[This message has been edited by peterpang (edited 12-28-2005).]

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Vlado
Vlado
Croatia
Posts: 28
Joined: February 2011
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 8
dsk 3
Popular Topics(Views)
251,410 Are you busy
188,633 Re: Forum
178,338 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.034s Queries: 15 (0.005s) Memory: 1.0240 MB (Peak: 1.2017 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-13 18:14:34 UTC