ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Whirlpool Recalls KitchenAid Electric Kettles
by Admin. 02/22/18 11:35 AM
Safest socket system for wet pottery studio?
by Jules69. 02/21/18 05:12 PM
diazed fuses
by Texas_Ranger. 02/21/18 10:22 AM
110.26
by gfretwell. 02/18/18 12:14 AM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
SE cable question
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (LongRunner), 23 guests, and 17 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
Furnace Wiring #101133
02/12/07 08:26 AM
02/12/07 08:26 AM
G
George Little  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,489
Michigan USA
What would you say to a contractor about his hook up on a furnace when he used a cord and cap connection instead of a direct hard wire connection?
Cord and cap connection is suitable if the horsepower rating is proper and the gauge of wire in the cord is adaquate.
The only thing I was concerned with is the manufacturer's installation instructions.
I have seen "wall heater" type installations that came out with a cord installed but I have never seen anyone connect a furnace using a cord and cap connection.


George Little
2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Furnace Wiring #101134
02/12/07 09:03 AM
02/12/07 09:03 AM
R
resqcapt19  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
IL
George,
I think that you have a 400.8 violation.
Don


Don(resqcapt19)
Re: Furnace Wiring #101135
02/12/07 01:11 PM
02/12/07 01:11 PM
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
I think you have a typical "west coast" furnace installation. This is especially common where the electric is only needed for the igniter and the blower.

Re: Furnace Wiring #101136
02/12/07 02:29 PM
02/12/07 02:29 PM
S
scameron81  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 75
Healdsburg, ca, USA
Out here in California you would be hard pressed to find a furnace that wasn't installed like that. Usually the only time the furnaces are hardwired is in commercial applications.

Re: Furnace Wiring #101137
02/12/07 03:33 PM
02/12/07 03:33 PM
I
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
What about 422.16?

The furnace would have to be intended or identified for cord connection.

I also have a hard time believing a furnace needs 'frequent interchange.

The fact that California allows it does not mean it is indeed NEC compliant.

There are things we do here in MA that would not fly in other states.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Re: Furnace Wiring #101138
02/12/07 10:49 PM
02/12/07 10:49 PM
G
George Little  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,489
Michigan USA
Don- I agree with you on the 400.8 violation. I think unless there is some reason to connect it with a cord/cap they would specify same in the manufacturers installation guide.

And Bob- I would not think that a furnace as installed with duct work and piped in gas line qualifies for 422.16

So with you two guys backing me up- I'm Golden


George Little
Re: Furnace Wiring #101139
02/12/07 11:15 PM
02/12/07 11:15 PM
B
BigB  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 725
Tucson, AZ USA
Here in Arizona virtually all the gas furnaces are plug and cord also. The only requirement is the receptacle must be the fused type, with an Edison fuse sized to Article 430.

Our evaporative (Swamp) coolers are also plug and cord connected, right up there on the roof, using a Midwest fused box sort of like a giant bubble cover where the cords hang out the bottom, one for the motor and one for the pump.

And yes, some of our homes are made out of mud.

Re: Furnace Wiring #101140
02/13/07 12:01 AM
02/13/07 12:01 AM
E
EV607797  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
I know that this is kind of a stupid question, but would an electric furnace in a heat pump situation installed out west be wired with a cord and cap as well? An example would be a 50 amp range cord used for a few backup heat strip units for the inside air handler. Around here in the eastern U.S., all furnaces, regardless of fuel, are hard-wired.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Re: Furnace Wiring #101141
02/13/07 09:42 AM
02/13/07 09:42 AM
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
No, such a heat pump would not be wired using a cord and cap.

The justifications for using cords here are a) the need to service the equipment;
b) the desire to have a receptacle available to the serviceman; and,
c) 430.109(F) recognizes that motors might be cord and plug connected, without making any restrictions as to the conditions under which this may be done.

That last reference, to 430.109(F), is not as clear as it once was. Prior editions to the code clearly stated that such "shall be permitted." The closing reference to portable motors "under 1/3 hp" not needing a horsepower rated rated plug has been the basis for limiting application of the cord & plug as a disconnecting means has been used to justify limiting this method to small motors in practice.

So, out West, one will often find fixed appliances hooked up using cord & plug, especially when the appliance can be served by an 'ordinary' 120v/15a receptacle. We will use pigtails on dishwashers, disposals, trash compactors, air cleaners, air conditioning condensers, circulation pumps, and all manner of things that "back East" might be hard-wired.

Taking the word-wrangling out of the discussion, I like the cord connection mainly because it provides a simple and sure means of disconnecting what you're working on. No more hunting for breakers! It also recognizes that the 'other trade' is not likely to be there at the same time as I; I can provide the receptacle, and he can put in his stuff.

That said, even I have some issues with this cord & plug connected furnace:


[Linked Image]

Re: Furnace Wiring #101142
02/13/07 12:18 PM
02/13/07 12:18 PM
S
SteveFehr  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
Chesapeake, VA
I don't see how this is a violation of 400.8. The cord is NOT substituting "fixed wiring of a structure" because it is connecting a serviceable appliance to an outlet. None of the other restrictions in 400.8 apply; this installation isn't trying to skirt cable routing rules, it's just using a plug instead of hardwired conection at the outlet box.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
noderaser
noderaser
Portland, Oregon, United States
Posts: 404
Joined: March 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 9
Popular Topics(Views)
244,052 Are you busy
181,045 Re: Forum
171,286 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.022s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 1.0282 MB (Peak: 1.2033 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-02-22 18:49:01 UTC