ECN Forum
Posted By: gfretwell Primaries of pole mounted transformers - 04/08/08 01:21 AM
How are the primaries of the transformers you see wired on the medium voltage side wired, line to line or line to neutral?

Mike Whitt was telling me over on the home inspector board that they are always line to line. I never see them that way in SW Fla. They are wired from one MV phase to the grounded conductor. Is it just a Florida thing?

[Linked Image]
Posted By: Albert Re: Primaries of pole mounted transformers - 04/08/08 01:39 AM
I'm not an electrician, but I think most residential distribution systems today are wye, with a multi-grounded neutral common to the primary and secondary. The primaries are connected line-to-neutral.

Most single-phase aerial distribution transformers have a single primary bushing, with the other end of the primary winding internally bonded to the transformer case and the secondary neutral. But I occasionally see a two-bushing transformer, where both ends of the primary are brought out to bushings. This type of transformer can be used on either delta systems (connected line-to-line) or wye systems (where one of the primary terminals is externally connected to the neutral).

I think residential delta distribution was much more common in the past.
Posted By: gfretwell Re: Primaries of pole mounted transformers - 04/08/08 01:52 AM
Thanks Albert, that was what I remembered when I was in the DC area but that was long ago. I looked at about 100 transformers today while I was driving around and I never saw one wired delta primary.

The other strange thing on my street is they have 3 transformers wired in parallel on that 3 wire bus with the 120/240, serving 11 homes. It is only one short stretch, the rest are the regular "maypole" with a transformer serving 2, 3 or 4 houses straight from that pole.