ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by Bill Addiss. 08/13/18 05:52 PM
Upgrade the old panel
by gfretwell. 08/13/18 12:20 AM
depth of duckbank
by ghost307. 08/12/18 09:26 PM
Section 179 vehicle purchases
by BigB. 08/05/18 01:06 PM
Don't you buy this stuff
by BigB. 08/05/18 01:00 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 6 guests, and 18 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Insulating Conduit from HVAC Duct #99892
09/23/06 09:47 AM
09/23/06 09:47 AM
T
Tiger  Offline OP
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 706
Crystal Lake, IL USA
The cold water ground thread brought up an old issue. An inspector asked me to insulate a conduit from HVAC duct. I'm assuming the idea is that a ground fault will be carried by the conduit, not the duct. I'm not quite following the reality that conduit is running to the furnace, which is multiple screwed to the duct. Since it's bonded there, what's the purpose of insulating it anywhere?

Dave

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Insulating Conduit from HVAC Duct #99893
09/23/06 10:02 AM
09/23/06 10:02 AM
I
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
As there is no NEC section requiring this it seems your inspector just felt it was a good idea and you being the nice guy that you are you did it. [Linked Image]

Bob


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Re: Insulating Conduit from HVAC Duct #99894
09/23/06 11:58 AM
09/23/06 11:58 AM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,997
Brick, NJ USA
I concur with Bob; did the AHJ reference a NEC Article?

John


John
Re: Insulating Conduit from HVAC Duct #99895
09/23/06 03:55 PM
09/23/06 03:55 PM
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
I think he meant "separate." While not mentioned (afaik) in the NEC, I was taught that my conduit was not allowed to touch other utilities; where contact was unavoidable, a thick pad was used to separate the two.

I was taught that this was to prevent wear caused by isloation; we could rub holes in out pipes, but not anyone elses'.

Re: Insulating Conduit from HVAC Duct #99896
09/23/06 05:44 PM
09/23/06 05:44 PM
T
Tesla  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
Sacramento, CA
The noise from pipe on duct would trigger a warranty callback.

Duct transmits sound better than a drummer in the basement.


Tesla
Re: Insulating Conduit from HVAC Duct #99897
09/23/06 07:32 PM
09/23/06 07:32 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,997
Brick, NJ USA
Tesla:
Why would there be any noise? Conduit does not vibrate. There should be no vibration from the air handler/furnace either.

Not being a wise guy, but what do you base your comment on?

Reno:
Yes, I also was 'taught' not to touch. I think Tiger has his furnace conduit strapped to the riser duct, which is common practice. I still don't see an NEC violation.

John


John

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
noderaser
noderaser
Portland, Oregon, United States
Posts: 404
Joined: March 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
248,575 Are you busy
186,305 Re: Forum
175,762 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.032s Queries: 14 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9773 MB (Peak: 1.1256 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-08-17 15:21:23 UTC