ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 4
doc 3
Recent Posts
Bathroom electrical
by doc. 08/19/17 06:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
Fire alarm phone lines and color coding
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
Popular Topics(Views)
239,950 Are you busy
175,542 Re: Forum
167,796 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (dougwells), 59 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#99516 - 08/08/06 11:33 AM NEC requirements for installing twist lock receptacle  
Christopher.Banbury  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Brooksville, FL, USA
What is the minimum box volume required for a L5-30R receptacle? This is a 125V, 30A, single phase twist-lock receptacle. Is a 4" box required or is a 2" single gang box acceptable. Also are there any special mounting requirements due to the twisting action required. Can the box be tabbed directly to the drywall opening with no attachment to wall framing (for after the fact installation). Thanks in advance.


Christopher Banbury, PE
President
Ark Engineering, Inc.
PO Box 10129, Brooksville, FL 34603
22 N. Broad ST, Brooksville, FL 34601
Phone: (352) 754-2424
FAX: (352) 754-2412
www.arkengineering.net

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides

#99517 - 08/08/06 11:52 AM Re: NEC requirements for installing twist lock receptacle  
gfretwell  Online Content


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,103
Estero,Fl,usa
The manufacturer may have instructions but the NEC is silent on the mounting. Box fill is 2 conductors allowance, same as any device. That doesn't mean it will fit.
Common sense says use a box that has enough room and mount this securely. Twist lock implies there will be some extra strain on the cord and you won't simply pull out the plug cap. We used a lot of twist lock and usually put them in a 4" box with 4 screws per device.


Greg Fretwell

#99518 - 08/08/06 12:57 PM Re: NEC requirements for installing twist lock receptacle  
Dnkldorf  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,064
nowhere usa
Quote
Can the box be tabbed directly to the drywall opening with no attachment to wall framing (for after the fact installation).


Depends, I learned here that if you are cutting into a firewall, the box must be attached to the framing of the wall.

I think Roger or Bob(iwire) have the link, it is not in the code book, but a building code if memory serves me right.


#99519 - 08/08/06 06:26 PM Re: NEC requirements for installing twist lock receptacle  
Jim M  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 457
Chestertown, MD, USA
Iwould use a deep 1Gbox to allow the wires some room.

If you are worried about the twisting working the old work box loose after awhile look at using one of the new smart box style old works that screw to the side of the stud.

Arlington makes one, check www.aifittings.com or www.smartbox.com for another brand.



Member Spotlight
Scott35
Scott35
Anaheim, CA. USA
Posts: 2,707
Joined: October 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.010s Queries: 14 (0.002s) Memory: 0.7623 MB (Peak: 0.8944 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-19 18:43:28 UTC