ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by gfretwell. 09/23/18 02:50 PM
Inspection camera help
by petey_c. 09/22/18 07:52 AM
Motion detectors and dimmers
by gfretwell. 09/20/18 04:02 PM
Extension cords
by annemarie1. 09/20/18 08:54 AM
Acronis Backup 2017
by gfretwell. 09/16/18 12:46 AM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 36 guests, and 25 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Installing a GFI on a brick wall #97749
03/19/06 10:42 PM
03/19/06 10:42 PM
K
kyelectric  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 64
Asking from all the experienced electricians who have been in the trade far longer that I have...What is the best way to make a hole in a brick wall for a receptacle box where a homeowner wants a GFI installed outside? Do you mark the wall for the dimesion of the box and then drill several holes with masonary bits and then chisel out the brick until the box fits? What kind of box is the best to use? Thanks!

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Installing a GFI on a brick wall #97750
03/19/06 10:54 PM
03/19/06 10:54 PM
B
bot540  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 174
Vernon Hills, IL
I do exactly what you stated using a single gang mason box. I then also fill in the gaps using mortar. The dimension of the box is usually half that of the brick, so you only have to drill one side. I would use 1/4 inch bit or smaller.


Jesus may have been a capenter,but God was an electrician.Genesis1:3
Re: Installing a GFI on a brick wall #97751
03/20/06 12:05 AM
03/20/06 12:05 AM
B
BigB  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 732
Tucson, AZ USA
I cut in first with my 4" diamond blade to make the outline about 1/2" deep, then I use my 2" coring bit on my rotary hammer to remove most of the material, finishing it off with a chisel. If the box is outdoors I will get some mortar to set it, but if indoors I will just mix up some 20 minute joint compound since I keep that on the truck...it holds like you wouldn't believe.

Re: Installing a GFI on a brick wall #97752
03/20/06 03:00 PM
03/20/06 03:00 PM
K
kyelectric  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 64
So basically, knock out a hole just a little bit bigger than the box and then mortar around the box to keep it in place? Is there a type of box that will fit in the hole and tighten down on the brick? Is there any kind of mortar that comes in a tube that can be put around the box from a caulking gun or will I have to buy a small bag and mix it? Thanks

Re: Installing a GFI on a brick wall #97753
03/20/06 03:12 PM
03/20/06 03:12 PM
L
luckyshadow  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 315
Maryland USA
I use my 4 1/2 grinder with diamond wheel to cut the outline of a masonary box(mudbox)
then finish the job with a masonary drill . I use a bosch bulldog , I have a small chisel that fits right into the drill and this works great ! I then pull cable,mc,greenfield etc out and attach to box, then fill entire hole with mortar,then push box back into hole, clean up and touch up around box. wait till set and trim out.

Re: Installing a GFI on a brick wall #97754
03/20/06 05:57 PM
03/20/06 05:57 PM
T
Trick440  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 248
Waterford, MI, USA
Wow, I just beat the hell out of it with my hammer till I knock half a brick out.

Then I use some mortar and install handy box. Dry and then trim.

I have never actually had to mortar. We don't really miss brick boxes and if for some reason one is missing we do everything except mortar it.


Shake n Bake
Re: Installing a GFI on a brick wall #97755
03/20/06 10:40 PM
03/20/06 10:40 PM
B
BigB  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 732
Tucson, AZ USA
kyelectric,

I have seen some pre mixed concrete repair products at Home Depot. They would probly work fine. I keep some of those small pails with covers that joint compound comes in and store dry mortar in one and dry joint compound in another. That way I never have to open a container and find out it has dried out or froze. If your truck doesn't have the room just keep em in your garage and remember to load them up on days you will need them.

P.S. I've heard expanding foam works pretty good too.

Re: Installing a GFI on a brick wall #97756
03/21/06 12:36 AM
03/21/06 12:36 AM
A
Active 1  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 687
Grayslake IL, USA
Besides mortor I have used construction adhesive in the caucking gun to hold brick boxes cut in for coach lights.

Tom


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
MarkC10
MarkC10
CA, Inland Empire
Posts: 43
Joined: September 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 13
sparky 4
Popular Topics(Views)
249,448 Are you busy
187,366 Re: Forum
176,705 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.030s Queries: 14 (0.005s) Memory: 0.9933 MB (Peak: 1.1506 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-09-25 07:24:16 UTC