ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
300 watt transformer
by watersparkfalls. 10/23/17 05:23 PM
Question on power to 4 Nema 6-50 & 5 Nema 5-15.
by TrickedoutTech. 10/22/17 11:36 PM
VFD MotorFeeders
by Yoopersup. 10/22/17 07:52 PM
Generator Cable Sizing
by brsele. 10/18/17 07:39 PM
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 01:08 AM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,463 Are you busy
177,464 Re: Forum
169,030 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (watersparkfalls), 34 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#97749 - 03/19/06 10:42 PM Installing a GFI on a brick wall  
kyelectric  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 64
Asking from all the experienced electricians who have been in the trade far longer that I have...What is the best way to make a hole in a brick wall for a receptacle box where a homeowner wants a GFI installed outside? Do you mark the wall for the dimesion of the box and then drill several holes with masonary bits and then chisel out the brick until the box fits? What kind of box is the best to use? Thanks!


2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides

#97750 - 03/19/06 10:54 PM Re: Installing a GFI on a brick wall  
bot540  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 174
Vernon Hills, IL
I do exactly what you stated using a single gang mason box. I then also fill in the gaps using mortar. The dimension of the box is usually half that of the brick, so you only have to drill one side. I would use 1/4 inch bit or smaller.


Jesus may have been a capenter,but God was an electrician.Genesis1:3

#97751 - 03/20/06 12:05 AM Re: Installing a GFI on a brick wall  
BigB  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 719
Tucson, AZ USA
I cut in first with my 4" diamond blade to make the outline about 1/2" deep, then I use my 2" coring bit on my rotary hammer to remove most of the material, finishing it off with a chisel. If the box is outdoors I will get some mortar to set it, but if indoors I will just mix up some 20 minute joint compound since I keep that on the truck...it holds like you wouldn't believe.


#97752 - 03/20/06 03:00 PM Re: Installing a GFI on a brick wall  
kyelectric  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 64
So basically, knock out a hole just a little bit bigger than the box and then mortar around the box to keep it in place? Is there a type of box that will fit in the hole and tighten down on the brick? Is there any kind of mortar that comes in a tube that can be put around the box from a caulking gun or will I have to buy a small bag and mix it? Thanks


#97753 - 03/20/06 03:12 PM Re: Installing a GFI on a brick wall  
luckyshadow  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 307
Maryland USA
I use my 4 1/2 grinder with diamond wheel to cut the outline of a masonary box(mudbox)
then finish the job with a masonary drill . I use a bosch bulldog , I have a small chisel that fits right into the drill and this works great ! I then pull cable,mc,greenfield etc out and attach to box, then fill entire hole with mortar,then push box back into hole, clean up and touch up around box. wait till set and trim out.


#97754 - 03/20/06 05:57 PM Re: Installing a GFI on a brick wall  
Trick440  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 248
Waterford, MI, USA
Wow, I just beat the hell out of it with my hammer till I knock half a brick out.

Then I use some mortar and install handy box. Dry and then trim.

I have never actually had to mortar. We don't really miss brick boxes and if for some reason one is missing we do everything except mortar it.


Shake n Bake

#97755 - 03/20/06 10:40 PM Re: Installing a GFI on a brick wall  
BigB  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 719
Tucson, AZ USA
kyelectric,

I have seen some pre mixed concrete repair products at Home Depot. They would probly work fine. I keep some of those small pails with covers that joint compound comes in and store dry mortar in one and dry joint compound in another. That way I never have to open a container and find out it has dried out or froze. If your truck doesn't have the room just keep em in your garage and remember to load them up on days you will need them.

P.S. I've heard expanding foam works pretty good too.


#97756 - 03/21/06 12:36 AM Re: Installing a GFI on a brick wall  
Active 1  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 687
Grayslake IL, USA
Besides mortor I have used construction adhesive in the caucking gun to hold brick boxes cut in for coach lights.

Tom



Member Spotlight
RonKipperDatacom
RonKipperDatacom
Kansas City, KS
Posts: 30
Joined: January 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.021s Queries: 14 (0.004s) Memory: 0.7932 MB (Peak: 0.9555 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-23 22:33:43 UTC