ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by Bill Addiss. 08/13/18 05:52 PM
Upgrade the old panel
by gfretwell. 08/13/18 12:20 AM
depth of duckbank
by ghost307. 08/12/18 09:26 PM
Section 179 vehicle purchases
by BigB. 08/05/18 01:06 PM
Don't you buy this stuff
by BigB. 08/05/18 01:00 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 9 guests, and 19 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
lighting question #97680
03/14/06 12:18 PM
03/14/06 12:18 PM
K
kyelectric  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 64
I would like to come directly out of the breaker panel and into 3 overhead lights first and then send 1 piece of romex out to the switch. I can't make this work on paper without running 12/3 between the individual light fixtures. Is there any way to do this using only 12/2? The switch is far away from the panel and the lights. To avoid running a long piece of romex all the way to the switch first and then all the way back to the lights, I was hoping to somehow go to the lights first and send only 1 long piece of romex out to the switch to break the circuit. Any ideas???
Thanks!

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: lighting question #97681
03/14/06 01:06 PM
03/14/06 01:06 PM
Tom  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,044
Shinnston, WV USA
There is no way to do this with 12-2 that would meet code requirements. 12-3 is probably going to be the most cost effective method. You could check into an x-10 relay that is controlled by a small radio transmitter similar to a garage door opener.

Good luck

Tom


Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.
Re: lighting question #97682
03/14/06 02:03 PM
03/14/06 02:03 PM
D
dannynova  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 18
new york
out of the panel to a splice box. out of the box to the switch and out of the box to the lights. this way one cable to the switch will be the hot/switch leg.

Re: lighting question #97683
03/14/06 02:15 PM
03/14/06 02:15 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,251
Estero,Fl,usa
Danny is on the right track. You could also split out your switch leg from the first luminaire in the string.


Greg Fretwell
Re: lighting question #97684
03/14/06 10:59 PM
03/14/06 10:59 PM
K
kyelectric  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 64
I guess I just need to bite the bullet and run the feed to the switch first. No big deal, I was just trying to find an easier way to do this and save from running all the way down to the switch and back. If it was just one light, it would be no problem but I guess when you get more than 1 fixture it gets a little more complicated. Thanks for the replies!

Re: lighting question #97685
03/14/06 11:17 PM
03/14/06 11:17 PM
H
HLCbuild  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 209
Herndon,Va USA
KY,

As gfretwell said, run your feed to the first light, run a dead-end 2-wire switchleg from there to a switch. Down on white (reidentified) and back on black. Then tie into the lights.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Admin
Admin
NY, USA
Posts: 3,503
Joined: October 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
248,562 Are you busy
186,267 Re: Forum
175,740 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.016s Queries: 14 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9761 MB (Peak: 1.1168 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-08-16 20:11:51 UTC