ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 4
Recent Posts
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
Bathroom electrical
by gfretwell. 08/14/17 02:05 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
Fire alarm phone lines and color coding
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
Popular Topics(Views)
239,881 Are you busy
175,451 Re: Forum
167,730 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 39 guests, and 12 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#97680 - 03/14/06 12:18 PM lighting question  
kyelectric  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 64
I would like to come directly out of the breaker panel and into 3 overhead lights first and then send 1 piece of romex out to the switch. I can't make this work on paper without running 12/3 between the individual light fixtures. Is there any way to do this using only 12/2? The switch is far away from the panel and the lights. To avoid running a long piece of romex all the way to the switch first and then all the way back to the lights, I was hoping to somehow go to the lights first and send only 1 long piece of romex out to the switch to break the circuit. Any ideas???
Thanks!


2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides

#97681 - 03/14/06 01:06 PM Re: lighting question  
Tom  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,044
Shinnston, WV USA
There is no way to do this with 12-2 that would meet code requirements. 12-3 is probably going to be the most cost effective method. You could check into an x-10 relay that is controlled by a small radio transmitter similar to a garage door opener.

Good luck

Tom


Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.

#97682 - 03/14/06 02:03 PM Re: lighting question  
dannynova  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 18
new york
out of the panel to a splice box. out of the box to the switch and out of the box to the lights. this way one cable to the switch will be the hot/switch leg.


#97683 - 03/14/06 02:15 PM Re: lighting question  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,103
Estero,Fl,usa
Danny is on the right track. You could also split out your switch leg from the first luminaire in the string.


Greg Fretwell

#97684 - 03/14/06 10:59 PM Re: lighting question  
kyelectric  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 64
I guess I just need to bite the bullet and run the feed to the switch first. No big deal, I was just trying to find an easier way to do this and save from running all the way down to the switch and back. If it was just one light, it would be no problem but I guess when you get more than 1 fixture it gets a little more complicated. Thanks for the replies!


#97685 - 03/14/06 11:17 PM Re: lighting question  
HLCbuild  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 209
Herndon,Va USA
KY,

As gfretwell said, run your feed to the first light, run a dead-end 2-wire switchleg from there to a switch. Down on white (reidentified) and back on black. Then tie into the lights.



Member Spotlight
Bill Addiss
Bill Addiss
NY, USA
Posts: 3,878
Joined: October 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.018s Queries: 14 (0.004s) Memory: 0.7765 MB (Peak: 0.9197 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-17 21:25:04 UTC