ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
VFD MotorFeeders
by gfretwell. 10/19/17 01:02 AM
Generator Cable Sizing
by brsele. 10/18/17 07:39 PM
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 01:08 AM
Good ol' copper pipe in the fuse holder trick
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:16 PM
Another generator question
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:02 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,420 Are you busy
177,393 Re: Forum
168,991 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 15 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#96912 - 01/07/06 08:11 PM Table 210.21 (B) (3) Interpretation  
kyelectric  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 64
According to this table for receptacle ratings can you run a 20 amp circuit and use 15 amp rated receptacles on it? It says...
ciruit rating 20 = receptacle rating 15 or 20. Am I looking at this right or do I have to use 20 amp receptacles?


2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides

#96913 - 01/07/06 08:56 PM Re: Table 210.21 (B) (3) Interpretation  
Redsy  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
Bucks County PA
As long as there is more than one receptacle on the circuit, a 15 amp receptacle can be installed on a 20-amp circuit. Remember that a duplex receptacle is 2 receptacles. Therefore, a 15-amp duplex can be installed on a 20-amp ckt.


#96914 - 01/07/06 11:17 PM Re: Table 210.21 (B) (3) Interpretation  
AllClear  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 44
Belmond Iowa US
The Heading For this Table Is

"Maximum Cord-and-Plug Connected Load to Receptacle"

After I Looked it Up I was left wondering about it also. The Max for a 15A Recep. is 12 amps. Am I In Violation if I plug in Something that Draws 13 amps into a 15A Recpt? Like my Vaccume Cleaner, It says 13 amps in big bold letters right on the front of it.


It's Not The Fall That Kills You...
It's That Sudden Stop At The End

#96915 - 01/07/06 11:56 PM Re: Table 210.21 (B) (3) Interpretation  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,123
Estero,Fl,usa
That should be controlled by the NRTL that listed it. If it was really a 13a load it should have a 5-20 plug ... but that is far from certain. I have a U/L listed 1650w smoker with a 5-15 plug.
It has tripped breakers and burned up plenty of cheap receptacles before I inherited it.
I use it on a dedicated spec grade 5-20 with no problems.


Greg Fretwell

#96916 - 01/08/06 08:30 AM Re: Table 210.21 (B) (3) Interpretation  
Redsy  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
Bucks County PA
Guys,

The inquiry is to Table 210.21(B)(3), not 210.21(B)(2)


#96917 - 01/08/06 11:31 PM Re: Table 210.21 (B) (3) Interpretation  
kyelectric  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 64
REDSY,
So I can install 15 amp receptacles on my new 20 amp branch circuit? Thanks for the reply by the way. Also, maybe someone knows the answer to this question. In a room additon I'm working on one whole 8 foot wall is going to be cabinets surrounding a window. Am I still required to install a receptacles somewhere in the cabinets to keep with the dwelling unit every 6 feet rule? Thanks


#96918 - 01/09/06 12:26 AM Re: Table 210.21 (B) (3) Interpretation  
Speedy Petey  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 173
Upstate, NY
What is the "every 6' rule"?

I hope you mean every 12' rule.


Speedy Petey

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new." -Albert Einstein

#96919 - 01/09/06 12:15 PM Re: Table 210.21 (B) (3) Interpretation  
kyelectric  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 64
No, according to 210.52(A)(1), "receptacles shall be installed so that no point measured horizontally along the floor line in any wall space is more that 6 ft from a receptacle outlet". I understand you are talking about installing them 12 feet apart so there is only 6 feet to the middle. But what do you do when one whole wall is taken up with cabinets?


#96920 - 01/09/06 12:30 PM Re: Table 210.21 (B) (3) Interpretation  
sabrown  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 302
Ogden, Utah, USA
Ask your AHJ. If they consider cabinets to be like a closet then no you would not have to. But I can not picture your exact situation. The AHJ should be asking if the cabinets are permenant, floor to ceiling, or if any counter space. Then they would interpret things as best they can.

Consider the use of the cabinets and their design, you may want them anyway. I would recommend installing at least per wall requirement just because it is handy. When I installed my permenent library shelves, I installed receptacles accessible within them and I have found myself using them on occasion.

Shane


#96921 - 01/09/06 01:56 PM Re: Table 210.21 (B) (3) Interpretation  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,123
Estero,Fl,usa
Shane that is the real question. Is a receptacle inside a cabinet considered one of the 210.52(A)(1) receptacles?
I would say yes. An entertainment center that runs the length of the wall is a good example.


Greg Fretwell

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Member Spotlight
Theelectrikid
Theelectrikid
Levittown, PA
Posts: 810
Joined: April 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.019s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.8181 MB (Peak: 0.9940 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-21 04:58:18 UTC