ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
2017 NEC Changes
by HotLine1. 12/11/17 12:10 PM
Casino Wiring methods
by HotLine1. 12/09/17 10:44 AM
Ground wire Size to water Line.
by HotLine1. 12/05/17 12:11 PM
Flexible conduit to an outside Spa
by gfretwell. 12/05/17 12:28 AM
Dimmable LED 2x4 lay in fixtures
by Vulsion. 11/30/17 06:37 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
243,014 Are you busy
179,414 Re: Forum
170,373 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 27 guests, and 11 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#96858 - 01/01/06 10:07 AM Can This Be Done?  
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
Last Month there was a storm on Cape Cod MA, this caused wide spread power outages. As a result we where called in to tie in three 800 KW temporary generators into three separate supermarkets.

Each unit was a very new trailer mounted Caterpillar genset.

While making up the connections we could not help but notice this sticker.

[Linked Image]

Should we have packed up and gone home?

[This message has been edited by iwire (edited 01-01-2006).]


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides

#96859 - 01/01/06 11:40 AM Re: Can This Be Done?  
Celtic  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 361
NJ
It's early...shouldn't the sticker state: At least/minimum 25 ohms to ground?


~~ CELTIC ~~
...-= NJ =-...

#96860 - 01/01/06 01:09 PM Re: Can This Be Done?  
sierra electrician  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 219
North Fork, CA USA
You could have used the building gnd system.


#96861 - 01/01/06 01:13 PM Re: Can This Be Done?  
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
Quote
You could have used the building gnd system.


We did. [Linked Image]

However I still have no reason to believe that the buildings grounding electrode system provided less than 25 ohms of resistance.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts

#96862 - 01/01/06 01:18 PM Re: Can This Be Done?  
trekkie76  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 220
baileyville, maine, usa
does this have anything to do with it being on a tralier? I would suspect they did mean 25 ohms or less, not at least 25 ohms.


#96863 - 01/01/06 01:22 PM Re: Can This Be Done?  
sierra electrician  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 219
North Fork, CA USA
Normally when Bldg Steel, UFER, Water & Gas are all bonded you will be well below 25 ohms.

[This message has been edited by sierra electrician (edited 01-01-2006).]


#96864 - 01/01/06 01:34 PM Re: Can This Be Done?  
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
I would not say you normally assume it will be less than 25 ohms.

That depends entirely on the 'dirt' in the area.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts

#96865 - 01/01/06 01:41 PM Re: Can This Be Done?  
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
To expand a bit.

What difference does 1, 10, 25 or 100 ohms to ground make anyway?

A fault on the load side of the generators breaker will not use the earth for fault clearing.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts

#96866 - 01/01/06 01:46 PM Re: Can This Be Done?  
sierra electrician  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 219
North Fork, CA USA
I would also never assume it. In my experience in my area this is what I have found.
When it is "criticle" to acheive the requested ohms you should always measure it.


#96867 - 01/01/06 08:35 PM Re: Can This Be Done?  
BigJohn  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 391
Boston, MA
This isn't exactly on topic, but it's related to something I've always wondered:

It seems like everyone talks about earth impedence being less-than or equal-to 25 ohms. That doesn't really make sense to me. How can earth have a definite resistance? Your resistance has to be between two points on a circuit, and assuming the ground rod is A, where is B? And if you increase the distance between the two points aren't you increasing the resistance?

What's going on when people talk about "earth impedence?"

-John


Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Member Spotlight
Grover
Grover
Sebago, ME, USA
Posts: 109
Joined: January 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.017s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.8186 MB (Peak: 0.9924 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-12-12 17:49:36 UTC