ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Lock-down Thread
by gfretwell - 05/08/21 01:39 PM
Do You Travel?
by gfretwell - 05/07/21 07:44 PM
Unemployment Fraud
by gfretwell - 05/07/21 07:28 PM
How's all our Non-US folks doing?
by grich - 05/07/21 06:04 PM
Where is Everyone?
by grich - 05/06/21 05:49 PM
New in the Gallery:
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
Garden 2021
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 16 guests, and 17 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
Re: Grounding Electrode Conductor #96457 01/03/06 02:41 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 60
M
markp Offline
Member
I wouldn't call it a splice either, but I think there may be some other issues. If each (or just one) wire from the panel to the pipe is sized per 250.66, then I see no problem. However, if these are GEC taps and a full size GEC was not run to the pipe, then I don't know if that meets the requirements of 250.64(D).

I see that the first 5' of a pipe can be an electrode, and used to bond other electrodes, but can that pipe be the full sized GEC itself and small taps from from it to panels?

Personally, I don't see why it can't be done this way, but I'm not sure this is permissible based on the definition of GEC. But running a short stub of #2 or 1/0 from that pipe and split bolting taps to it seems like a worse implementation.


Mark
Kent, WA
2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Grounding Electrode Conductor #96458 01/27/06 11:28 AM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 56
P
Paul O'Connell Offline
Member
George:

First question I have is when did the utility start supplying a 400 Ampere meter enclosure? Second, are the lugs in the meter enclosure rated for more than 1 conductor? Based on the reply to these questions I think that the bonding requirements of 250-66 should be based on the 400 Ampere service as supplied by the utility. Expand on this and imagine 6 main breaker panels and a fire pump installed on this service. Knowing you I surely would not want to be the inspection after that one.

Re: Grounding Electrode Conductor #96459 01/27/06 06:47 PM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 449
F
Fred Offline
Member
Paul, What most sparkys call a 400A meterbase is what the PoCo calls a 320A self-contained meter base. They are usually provided with studs for mounting double barrel lugs to feed (2) 200A loadcenters w parrallel 2/0 CU or 4/0 AL but I have seen them with single 600kcmil lugs and 500kcmil CU feeding a 400A disconnect. 320A (80% of 400A)continuous is what the PoCo calls this single phase metering set-up and usually sets this size as the maximum for self-contained metering. Anything larger is usually current transformer metered.

Re: Grounding Electrode Conductor #96460 01/27/06 09:01 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
R
Redsy Offline
Member
Paul, Landis & Gyr makes a 320-amp continuous meter socket with single barrel lugs that are listed for 2 conductors.

Re: Grounding Electrode Conductor #96461 01/28/06 06:28 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,507
G
George Little Offline OP
Member
Paul- Fred pretty well covered it. Our utility company here is SE Michigan show the 400a can in the "Green Book" and it's for residential underground only (some exceptions). As for a fire pump, well, I've only been involved with one of them in residential. It was a group home and we taped ahead of the service panel for it.


George Little
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
sparky66wv
sparky66wv
West Virginia
Posts: 2,236
Joined: November 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 15
Admin 8
Popular Topics(Views)
278,691 Are you busy
211,890 Re: Forum
198,941 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3