ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 4
Recent Posts
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
Bathroom electrical
by gfretwell. 08/14/17 02:05 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
Fire alarm phone lines and color coding
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
Popular Topics(Views)
239,898 Are you busy
175,469 Re: Forum
167,756 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 39 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#95072 - 08/25/05 09:00 PM sup. ground in meter or in panel  
Joey D  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 259
Arlington MA U.S.
Do you guys ground the panel or the meter? Why


2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides

#95073 - 08/25/05 09:17 PM Re: sup. ground in meter or in panel  
Jim M  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 457
Chestertown, MD, USA
I can only ground the panel. The utility prohibits having a ground in the meter socket.


#95074 - 08/25/05 09:43 PM Re: sup. ground in meter or in panel  
Electricmanscott  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,457
Holden, MA USA
Whichever is easier.


#95075 - 08/25/05 11:18 PM Re: sup. ground in meter or in panel  
Larry Fine  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 693
Richmond, VA
We can't put anything in the meter base except service conductors either. It would be the perfect place for the GEC: outside. Our meter bases even include a lug on the neutral for it.

So we have to make an extra wall penetration, or run the GEC through the same hole as the service entrance conductors, and down the wall from behind the meter (nobody's complained yet).

*heavy sigh*


Larry Fine
Fine Electric Co.
fineelectricco.com

#95076 - 08/26/05 07:39 PM Re: sup. ground in meter or in panel  
Joey D  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 259
Arlington MA U.S.
I was asked to bond the panels together on a 2 gang socket where I ran the sup ground to the meter. I would have thought using the buss bar in the meter socket would have been a better install. If I just hit the panel as I usually do and jump them out I would have been fine but the though of a time saver entered my head


#95077 - 08/29/05 01:07 AM Re: sup. ground in meter or in panel  
macmikeman  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 717
Honolulu, Hawaii
Do any of you guy's ever use combination meter main sockets?. Maybe it is because I live in a no snow zone, but seems easier to put the disconecting means right at the meter socket. I never did have to go out in the snow to reset a main though, that probably would ruin anybody's day.


#95078 - 08/29/05 05:44 PM Re: sup. ground in meter or in panel  
Larry Fine  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 693
Richmond, VA
I never have, because (a) the POCO provides them gratis, and (b) an outside disconnect isn't required on all jobs. A 200a main cost's under $100. Hpw much is a typical 'meter-main'?


Larry Fine
Fine Electric Co.
fineelectricco.com

#95079 - 08/29/05 11:07 PM Re: sup. ground in meter or in panel  
macmikeman  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 717
Honolulu, Hawaii
Larry, I would say probably right around $110 bucks, but the way materials keep going up, in an hour or so it might be closer to $150 bucks.... Power company in my area does not provide us anything free these days. Now they insist the customer supply's and installs their own 2'x4' sidewalk boxes in the public right of way sidewalks. They used to tell us to install ditch,and underground conduit with string only up to the property line. They will then bill the customer for the wire which they install. I would also.


#95080 - 08/29/05 11:10 PM Re: sup. ground in meter or in panel  
macmikeman  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 717
Honolulu, Hawaii
The reason I mentioned meter main boxes is because they have multiple lugs on the load side of the can which are bolted to the neutral bus. Usually very easy place to terminate gec's and acceptable to both poco and the ahj.


#95081 - 08/30/05 10:06 PM Re: sup. ground in meter or in panel  
livetoride  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 109
san diego ca usa
Used to be the inspectors had to have the ground on the lug in the main. They just changed and the ground has to be on the load side. No notice; just tell me the rules and I will play by them; QUIT changing the rules with no notice and let them make sense. Rod



Member Spotlight
electure
electure
Fullerton, CA USA
Posts: 4,260
Joined: December 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.023s Queries: 14 (0.003s) Memory: 0.8081 MB (Peak: 0.9825 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-18 12:41:50 UTC