ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Burning out of return(white) side of 120volt rec
by crselectric. 06/14/19 02:15 AM
Video door bell causing chime activation of coil
by JoeTestingEngr. 06/13/19 12:43 PM
Troubleshooting Voltage Drop Across Relay
by gfretwell. 06/09/19 11:49 AM
Apple Recalls Three-Prong Wall Plug Adapters
by Admin. 06/05/19 09:06 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 13 guests, and 19 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Laundry circuit #92995
04/22/05 04:54 PM
04/22/05 04:54 PM
G
George Little  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,498
Michigan USA
Since the code talks to a 20a laundry circuit and no voltage is mentioned, am I still to figure 1500va for the laundry circuit when the appliance ask for a 15a 240v circuit? This is the rating on some of these "off shore" washers that I am seeing in the new homes lately.


George Little
2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Laundry circuit #92996
04/22/05 05:49 PM
04/22/05 05:49 PM
R
Roger  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,716
N.C.
George, 1500va would still need to be figured. I guess we could leave out the neutral consideration if we knew the unit would be 240v. In any case the NEC does note a two wire circuit.

Roger

[This message has been edited by Roger (edited 04-22-2005).]

Re: Laundry circuit #92997
04/22/05 08:20 PM
04/22/05 08:20 PM
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
Joe T has a point...it is his opinion that the NEC requires a 120v laundry circuit, even if the unit is 240v.

I agree with his reading of the code...I'm not sure I'd apply it. Heck, I recently saw some apartments that had added stack washer/dryer units to the kitchens...darned if I can sort out all the code issues that brings up!

As for the load calculations....as I see it, you'll have to do the square foot calc, and then add the known load of the appliance.

Re: Laundry circuit #92998
04/22/05 08:55 PM
04/22/05 08:55 PM
G
George Little  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,498
Michigan USA
What's Joe T? Are you talking about Joe Tedesco? and I don't see his point on this page?? I agree that it is assumed to be 120v. but even if it is 240v. the wire is the same and one could easily change the receptacle and breaker at minimal cost. But the va. would be different.


George Little
Re: Laundry circuit #92999
04/22/05 11:18 PM
04/22/05 11:18 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,365
Estero,Fl,usa
I agree 120v is not specified. Perhaps if we really thought there was going to be 240v appliances you could run 12/3 and use one of those 120/240 duplexes.
The load calc is still going to be 1500va. It is an arbitrary number.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Laundry circuit #93000
04/23/05 01:25 AM
04/23/05 01:25 AM
C
caselec  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 558
San Jose, CA
210.52 Lists the requirements for 125-volt 15 and 20 amp receptacles outlets in dwellings. 210.52(F) requires that a receptacle be provided for laundry. In my opinion all receptacles required in 210.52 (A) – (H) must be 125-volt.


Curt Swartz
Re: Laundry circuit #93001
04/23/05 07:49 AM
04/23/05 07:49 AM
G
George Little  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,498
Michigan USA
Good call Caselec, I agree. That one got past me. I told you guys that us inspectors learn from this forum [Linked Image]


George Little
Re: Laundry circuit #93002
04/23/05 01:22 PM
04/23/05 01:22 PM
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
Yes, I meant Joe Tedesco, and he has raised this point elsewhere........I was only giving credit where it was due :-)

Re: Laundry circuit #93003
04/26/05 08:39 PM
04/26/05 08:39 PM
G
GEC-1  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 32
Covington, Georgia USA
I am wiring condos right now that require a 240v for the combined washer and dryer. I still provide a 120v for the washer ( even though it does not use it) to comply with the code. I asked the AHJ about this, and he said that the only way around that is if the owners were providing the washing equiptment with the condos. ( which by the way they are) But I still provide this circuit for an outlet in that space. ( a good place to hang your dust buster)

Re: Laundry circuit #93004
04/27/05 12:20 AM
04/27/05 12:20 AM
L
Larry Fine  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 693
Richmond, VA
I had the same situation: building owners supplying 240-v stacked units. The AHJ still wanted 120-v receptacles. Reason: appliances can be replaced, and they don't want someone needing an extension cord.

How about gas applainces that could be replaced with electric ones later? I just finished roughing a house with gas, and I suggested, and ran, a 240-v circuit just in case, to be blanked off for now.


Larry Fine
Fine Electric Co.
fineelectricco.com
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Radar
Radar
Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 349
Joined: April 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Khombo 2
Popular Topics(Views)
255,717 Are you busy
191,687 Re: Forum
181,470 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.033s Queries: 15 (0.005s) Memory: 1.0254 MB (Peak: 1.2017 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2019-06-17 17:06:32 UTC