ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Al Hildenbrand - Minneapolis - obituary
by Bill Addiss - 02/03/23 07:38 PM
Violation?
by renosteinke - 01/27/23 09:52 PM
Does NEC 551.71 (F) apply to dwellings?
by BigB - 01/20/23 10:46 AM
Power submeter connections
by HotLine1 - 01/19/23 09:09 AM
New in the Gallery:
Burger King crown sillyness
Burger King crown sillyness
by wa2ise, December 11
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 29 guests, and 24 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#92995 04/22/05 03:54 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,507
G
Member
Since the code talks to a 20a laundry circuit and no voltage is mentioned, am I still to figure 1500va for the laundry circuit when the appliance ask for a 15a 240v circuit? This is the rating on some of these "off shore" washers that I am seeing in the new homes lately.


George Little
Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

#92996 04/22/05 04:49 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,716
R
Member
George, 1500va would still need to be figured. I guess we could leave out the neutral consideration if we knew the unit would be 240v. In any case the NEC does note a two wire circuit.

Roger

[This message has been edited by Roger (edited 04-22-2005).]

#92997 04/22/05 07:20 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,370
Likes: 1
Cat Servant
Member
Joe T has a point...it is his opinion that the NEC requires a 120v laundry circuit, even if the unit is 240v.

I agree with his reading of the code...I'm not sure I'd apply it. Heck, I recently saw some apartments that had added stack washer/dryer units to the kitchens...darned if I can sort out all the code issues that brings up!

As for the load calculations....as I see it, you'll have to do the square foot calc, and then add the known load of the appliance.

#92998 04/22/05 07:55 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,507
G
Member
What's Joe T? Are you talking about Joe Tedesco? and I don't see his point on this page?? I agree that it is assumed to be 120v. but even if it is 240v. the wire is the same and one could easily change the receptacle and breaker at minimal cost. But the va. would be different.


George Little
#92999 04/22/05 10:18 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,788
Likes: 14
G
Member
I agree 120v is not specified. Perhaps if we really thought there was going to be 240v appliances you could run 12/3 and use one of those 120/240 duplexes.
The load calc is still going to be 1500va. It is an arbitrary number.


Greg Fretwell
#93000 04/23/05 12:25 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 558
C
Member
210.52 Lists the requirements for 125-volt 15 and 20 amp receptacles outlets in dwellings. 210.52(F) requires that a receptacle be provided for laundry. In my opinion all receptacles required in 210.52 (A) – (H) must be 125-volt.


Curt Swartz
#93001 04/23/05 06:49 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,507
G
Member
Good call Caselec, I agree. That one got past me. I told you guys that us inspectors learn from this forum [Linked Image]


George Little
#93002 04/23/05 12:22 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,370
Likes: 1
Cat Servant
Member
Yes, I meant Joe Tedesco, and he has raised this point elsewhere........I was only giving credit where it was due :-)

#93003 04/26/05 07:39 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 32
G
Member
I am wiring condos right now that require a 240v for the combined washer and dryer. I still provide a 120v for the washer ( even though it does not use it) to comply with the code. I asked the AHJ about this, and he said that the only way around that is if the owners were providing the washing equiptment with the condos. ( which by the way they are) But I still provide this circuit for an outlet in that space. ( a good place to hang your dust buster)

#93004 04/26/05 11:20 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 693
L
Member
I had the same situation: building owners supplying 240-v stacked units. The AHJ still wanted 120-v receptacles. Reason: appliances can be replaced, and they don't want someone needing an extension cord.

How about gas applainces that could be replaced with electric ones later? I just finished roughing a house with gas, and I suggested, and ran, a 240-v circuit just in case, to be blanked off for now.


Larry Fine
Fine Electric Co.
fineelectricco.com
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *
2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC Now Available!
 
* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
SafetyWired
SafetyWired
Pa, USA
Posts: 44
Joined: July 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
triple 3
Popular Topics(Views)
303,223 Are you busy
232,217 Re: Forum
216,960 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5