ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Conduit over Vinyl Siding
by Jim M - 06/16/21 08:30 PM
Updated Forum Software
by Admin - 06/15/21 10:23 AM
Broken Outlet & Dangling Light
by LoneWolf - 06/14/21 08:21 PM
How's all our Non-US folks doing?
by C-H - 06/14/21 05:42 PM
Where is Everyone?
by Bill Addiss - 06/14/21 12:37 PM
New in the Gallery:
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
by Bill Addiss, April 29
Garden 2021
Garden 2021
by Bill Addiss, April 26
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 18 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#90304 11/14/04 10:05 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,507
G
Member
What's wrong with using a three way switch (SPDT) for switching between the disposal and the dishwasher? I'm saving the cost of a circuit and breaker. Need code reference.


George Little
2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
#90305 11/14/04 10:15 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
Moderator
Why use the switch?

How much do these units draw?


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
#90306 11/14/04 10:42 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,507
G
Member
Should have provided more details. You run a single circuit, probably 14/2 to a 3 way switch located above the kitchen counter for controling a duplex receptacle below the counter where you have the disposal and dishwasher plugged in. You run a 14/3 cable from the switch to the receptacle and break the tab off separating the two halves of the duplex. Now when you toggle the 3 way switch you will be providing power alternately- Switch up- disposal runs, switch down dishwasher runs. Saved the cost of a circuit and breaker.


George Little
#90307 11/14/04 10:43 AM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 172
W
Member
Bob
I believe George uses the switch as an electrical interlock. When the switch is up the disposer is on, and when down the dishwasher is powered.

I guess i need to type faster.


[This message has been edited by watthead (edited 11-14-2004).]

#90308 11/14/04 12:41 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
Moderator
I know and I do not know any code reason why you could not do this.

Also I asked why use the switch because if the GD draws 3 amps and the DW 13 amps one 20 amp circuit could be used as long as no other outlets where included on that circuit.

Bob


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
#90309 11/14/04 02:10 PM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 97
D
Member
Not sure if this is legal or not but we have something like this in the jail where I work.

The light switch for the room lights and the night lights is a three way. Up = room lights on night lights off. Down = room lights off night lights on.

At least with this method they will not forget to turn on the night lights.

#90310 11/14/04 04:31 PM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 597
E
Member
Another variation where George's setup has benefit is putting a small instant hotwater heater on the same circuit as a garbage disposal.

One outfit markets an air switch for the control of the disposal that does exactly the same thing that George's 3-way does.

But I have to wonder about the dishwasher purely from the manufacturer's perspective. Solid state controls are appearing on more and more dishwashers. A power interruption will re-initialize the control chips. The older mechanical clock would just pick up where it lost power.


Al Hildenbrand
#90311 11/14/04 05:09 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 697
D
Member
I don't know of any code violation, but it seems a poor design, IMO. I'd personally prefer a 20-amp circuit running to the dishwasher and disposer switch, leaving the dishwasher with unswitched power.

Dave

#90312 11/14/04 05:34 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 46
A
Member
I guess it would work fine that way.The question is why?With that set up,you can't run the disposal and dishwasher at the same time.I would run two circuits myself,a 12/3 would work nice.Better job that way I feel.A single 20 amp circuit would work too if a circuit needed to be saved.

[This message has been edited by andyp95 (edited 11-14-2004).]

#90313 11/14/04 09:56 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,274
Likes: 2
Member
Not to be the bearer of bad news...
Is the DW supplied with a factory cordset??
If not, does the mfg instructions say that a cord/plug connection is allowed??

References to NEC Article 400 prohibiting cord from replacing permanent wiring methods.

John


John
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
lil suzi
lil suzi
Midwest
Posts: 57
Joined: August 2003
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 14
Trumpy 10
Popular Topics(Views)
280,409 Are you busy
213,482 Re: Forum
200,389 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5