ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
From an outsider- How does tipping work?
by HotLine1 - 12/04/20 01:09 PM
Thought this was funny
by HotLine1 - 12/04/20 12:55 PM
Happy Thanksgiving
by Trumpy - 12/02/20 04:11 AM
Where is Everyone?
by Trumpy - 12/02/20 03:51 AM
What does your work place look like?
by Trumpy - 12/02/20 03:42 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 16 guests, and 16 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Codes!! #90273 11/11/04 12:57 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 41
R
rknikko Offline OP
Member
1)What is the maximum length can be exposed for BX and Romex wires?
2)The code specify a need for receptacle within 25ft of a Heating or Cooling unit. What if the unit is outside of the house and the receptacle is inside of the house, but it's still within 25ft? Would that be OK?

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Codes!! #90274 11/11/04 02:43 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,507
G
George Little Offline
Member
My answer to Q. 1 There is no limit to the length of exposed "Romex" cable or "BX" but there may be some issue with environment or physical protection. 334.15 for NM (Romex) and 320.15 for Armored Cable (BX) Q. #2- 210.63 is silent about the indoor or outdoor issue. It only says that it must be accessible and on the same level as the A/C unit.


George Little
Re: Codes!! #90275 11/11/04 04:47 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 41
R
rknikko Offline OP
Member
The BX cannot be exposed for more than 3ft I believe. When I say expose, I mean it will not be hidden in the wall. As for the attic, I believe this rule do not apply, but for finish wall, this is another case.

Re: Codes!! #90276 11/11/04 05:13 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 886
H
hbiss Offline
Member
Don't know where you are getting the idea the BX, which is type AC now, cannot be run exposed. You can run it as long as you want subject to 320.15.

As to your question about the service receptacle, the code only says that it must be within 25 feet. I would not consider a receptacle in another space or inside the house to meet that requirement however.

-Hal

Re: Codes!! #90277 11/11/04 07:36 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
R
resqcapt19 Offline
Member
I don't think that a service receptacle inside for equipment outside would be in compliance with this part of the rule.
Quote
The receptacle shall be located on the same level and within 7.5 m (25 ft) of the heating, air-conditioning, and refrigeration equipment.
In most buildings the inside floor is at a higher level than the outside grade.
Don


Don(resqcapt19)
Re: Codes!! #90278 11/11/04 08:19 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 886
H
hbiss Offline
Member
In most buildings the inside floor is at a higher level than the outside grade.

Well that may be stretching it a bit [Linked Image] but I think the intent is to have the receptacle available for easy access by a serviceman and that's why the code requires one to be installed. If you had to run an extension cord through doors or windows we would be back to the days when the receptacle wasn't required.

-Hal

Re: Codes!! #90279 11/11/04 08:53 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,143
D
DougW Offline
Member
1) Many local town are adopting "exposed run" restriction, but that's a local Code issue, not one found in the NEC, as long as support requirements are met. My town started that a few years ago, limiting exposed runs of AC, MC & Greenfield to 24" from penetrations (except for motor and lighting whips). Most of the IL Lake Shore has already outlawed NM, so that's moot for us.

2) I've always installed one within L.O.S. of the HVAC in the basement - usually a lot less than 25'.

I've always heard the "25'" rule applied to roof mounted HVAC / mechanical stuff - so they wouldn't have to run extension cords from inside the building. (or to sign receptacles with adaptors)

Re: Codes!! #90280 11/12/04 12:42 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
E
e57 Offline
Member
What if the HVAC guy doesn't have access to the interior?


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason
Re: Codes!! #90281 11/12/04 07:44 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 265
D
dmattox Offline
Member
I would always place the outlet in line of sight or next to the equipment.

I think it was in the code update notes that they were trying to prevent A/C guys from taking a leg of the A/C power and hooking up to the ground to provide power for their cords.

Re: Codes!! #90282 11/13/04 12:34 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,527
B
Bjarney Offline
Moderator
 
Aside — There are odd little special-application fused-receptacle/disconnect switches like that at: www.midwestelectric.com/marketing/literature/MEPF-AC04.pdf

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HotLine1
HotLine1
Brick, NJ USA
Posts: 7,220
Joined: April 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 20
Popular Topics(Views)
272,248 Are you busy
206,130 Re: Forum
194,125 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3