ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Where is Everyone?
by gfretwell - 06/20/21 10:53 PM
Happy Father's Day!
by Bill Addiss - 06/19/21 04:16 PM
A Risky Setup
by timmp - 06/18/21 08:08 PM
Conduit over Vinyl Siding
by Jim M - 06/16/21 08:30 PM
Updated Forum Software
by Admin - 06/15/21 10:23 AM
New in the Gallery:
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
by Bill Addiss, April 29
Garden 2021
Garden 2021
by Bill Addiss, April 26
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 15 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#89347 09/10/04 10:32 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,507
G
Member
Okay people, what is the code requirement for lighting in an unfinished basement in a residential building with a frunace and sump pump in the basement? Where does the switching need to be? We have a debate going here in Michigan.


George Little
2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
#89348 09/10/04 11:49 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,749
Member
Quote
210.70(A)(3) Storage or Equipment Spaces.

For attics, underfloor spaces, utility rooms, and basements, at least one lighting outlet containing a switch or controlled by a wall switch shall be installed where these spaces are used for storage or contain equipment requiring servicing.

At least one point of control shall be at the usual point of entry to these spaces.

The lighting outlet shall be provided at or near the equipment requiring servicing.


Joe Tedesco, NEC Consultant
#89349 09/11/04 12:11 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,374
R
Moderator
Ditto Joe's post. [Linked Image]


Ryan Jackson,
Salt Lake City
#89350 09/11/04 07:09 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,507
G
Member
I agree gentlemen and the issue I should have stated is when a furnace , for example, is at the far end of a basement we typically have a stairway lighting outlet controled by a set of three points at the top and bottom of the stairs. From the bottom of the stairs we have a series of pull chain fixtures along the way to the furnace sometimes a distance of 50 to 100 feet. Is this, in your opinion what the code says to the purist?


George Little
#89351 09/11/04 10:12 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,035
Likes: 1
Member
George,

I'll bite ...
I'm guessing the debate is whether the switch for the light by the Furnace should be by the stairs. That may be what the code language requires.

Bill


Bill
#89352 09/12/04 06:04 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,507
G
Member
You hit the nail on the head Bill. I do think that's what the words say in the Code but I don't know that this is being done elsewhere or that it is that important. So the words say that the control should be at the entrance to the area and the lighting outlet should be at the equipment requiring servicing. This really is a two part question- How many lights do we need in the basement if any, besides the one at the furnace?


George Little
#89353 09/12/04 06:06 AM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 613
S
Member
George...the wording in 210.70(A)(3)requires the lighting outlet at the furnace equipment to be controlled by the switch at the usual point of entry to the basement,as I read it in the 2002 NEC. I use to wire unfinished basements with pullchain lampholders as you have described, but now I wire all the lights on the switch at the stairs leading to the basement.
A home owner told me a story of how his son went to the basement with a pail of hot water for some project he was doing for school and he was using a small step ladder to try to turn on a pullchain light that had the string broken off and somehow he steped into that pail of hot water when he was coming down off the step ladder and was burned by the hot water.

shortcircuit

#89354 09/12/04 10:11 AM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 206
C
Member
George, I would say you need 3 lights in your basement. At the furnace, sump pump, & electrical panel. This is based on 210.70(A)(3) equipment requiring servicing.

Also like shortcircuit I do not use pull chains anymore. I put the switch at the entrance to the basement area.
Al

#89355 09/12/04 02:10 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,143
D
Member
Done the pullchain bit myself over the years. What I have done recently is wire them to the switch at the stairs - that way (if the basement isn't really being used for anything)the HO can control the number of lights he needs on at any one time, but it still complies with the Code.

Although, to argue the point, I think that if the stairway lighting (controlled by a 3-way circuit, S1 @ the top (1st floor) and S2 @ the bottom (basement)) illuminates enough of the basement to get to pullchain lamp #1, you might be able to that "...one point of control" is at the foot of the stairs.

#89356 09/12/04 03:12 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,389
S
Member
Quote
along the way to the furnace sometimes a distance of 50 to 100 feet.

I'm glad you said 'purist' there George, after all, i can't imagine anyone building a 100+ ft long residence to argue about how many porcelians would be in thier basement..

~S~

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
The Watt Doctor
The Watt Doctor
Mont Belvieu, TX
Posts: 437
Joined: December 2001
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 10
Admin 10
Popular Topics(Views)
280,448 Are you busy
213,527 Re: Forum
200,406 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5