ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Solar PV Wiring Errors
by renosteinke - 03/02/24 08:12 PM
Do You Wrap Your Receptacles?
by gfretwell - 02/20/24 10:48 PM
Cable Chase Code Requirement
by renosteinke - 02/16/24 07:00 PM
Do we need grounding?
by gfretwell - 02/16/24 10:37 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by gfretwell - 02/08/24 07:28 AM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 16 guests, and 18 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#89091 08/31/04 08:14 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 41
R
rknikko Offline OP
Member
Few questions for today:

1)What is the proper way to wire for AFCI? It says it cannot have shared neutral, otherwise, it will trip the AFCI. What do they mean by shared neutral? Does that mean we cannot have a 12/3 use and must wire with a 12/2 instead? Can we wire a 12/2 with lights & receptacles under same AFCI circuit? Will AFCI work? What happend to old panel box that was installed years ago? I don't think they have dedicated neutral? How will AFCI work in those panels?

2) Is it a violation to wire lights, smoke detector & receptacles under the same circuit, assuming the load is sufficient?

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
 

#89092 08/31/04 05:52 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 220
T
Member
the AFCI won't work on a multimire branch circuit, such as a 12/3 run to the attic to feed a couple of bedrooms, etc. It senses the imbalance between the ungrounded and the nuetral. If you are using existing circuits, why are you arc faulting ?Are you bringing something up to current code? If you run new circuits, the AFCI will work fine for lights and receps. as long as it is a 2 wire cicuit. Nothing comes to mind about the smoke being on it's own, but there maybe a stipulation for it in the Firm Alarm code.the code section on AFCI also says all Outlets in the room. def. of an outlet is: a point on the wiring system at which current is taken to supply utlization equipment. sounds to me like they want everything in the room arc faulted.

#89093 09/01/04 06:14 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,507
G
Member
Couple of comments: They now make AFCI circuit breakers suitable for use on multiwire branch circuits. Another comment would be why would one use #12 awg for wiring a bedrom? I don't think anyone should be concerned about putting anything on an AFCI protected circuit. If I have an arcing condition that an AFCI can detect, I want to know about it and have the breaker trip :-)


George Little
#89094 09/01/04 03:19 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 220
T
Member
George, good info on the multiwire AFCI. Haven't seen one yet. Isn't that why they developed AFCI technology, to detect arcing faults that a breaker would not? I personally use #12 AWG for everything, lights and receps in a house.

#89095 09/01/04 05:18 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 173
S
Member
Trekkie, your 4-way's and dimmer boxes must get pretty crowded with all #12. Devices must be a joy to install.

Yes, two pole AFCIs have been around a whuile now. They are costly though.


Speedy Petey

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new." -Albert Einstein
#89096 09/01/04 05:52 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 220
T
Member
yea, sometimes, but for the most part I find it just as easy to wire devices with #12. How does a 2 pole AFCI work? Guess it probably is like a 2 pole GFCI

[This message has been edited by trekkie76 (edited 09-01-2004).]

[This message has been edited by trekkie76 (edited 09-01-2004).]

#89097 09/01/04 06:31 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 220
T
Member
just did a little research, found a diagram of a 2 pole AFCI. Still can;t find a literature on how it works.

#89098 09/01/04 07:23 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 49
J
Member
can anyone tell me how these arc fault breakers are installed?

#89099 09/01/04 07:45 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 41
R
rknikko Offline OP
Member
If I am correct, you insert the ungrounded wire to the breaker, connect the neutral from the AFCI breaker to the branch neutral and last, the green / ground wire from the AFCI to the neutral bus bar.

[This message has been edited by rknikko (edited 09-01-2004).]

#89100 09/01/04 09:44 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 173
S
Member
What rknikko said. Except that the white from the breaker is a grounded, not grounding, conductor. Small detail I know, but it is white after all.

The two pole is wired exctly like a GFCB. The two hots from the multiwire to the poles of the breaker and the rest the same.


Speedy Petey

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new." -Albert Einstein
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5