ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Unusual Well Pump Switch Failure
by gfretwell - 10/28/20 12:50 PM
Look at this mess...
by InspectorE - 10/27/20 09:09 PM
New tool
by gfretwell - 10/24/20 11:09 AM
Where is Everyone?
by Bill Addiss - 10/17/20 07:04 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (gfretwell), 22 guests, and 14 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
400 amp #8860 04/07/02 09:12 PM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 37
S
stan Offline OP
Member
Ive been in the electrical field now for about 4 years and something i have never done is install 2-200 amp panels ive never even looked at someone elses install how do u do this ? It is for a large custome home . It is my first big job on my own. Diagram would help alot to Help me guys!!

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: 400 amp #8861 04/07/02 09:39 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 324
A
arseegee Offline
Member
Stan, do 'em every week. I often try to work one of my indoor panels as a lighting panel and the other as an equipment panel(A/C, WH, washer, dryer, cooking equip). This cuts down on light flicker when a motor load kicks in. As for outside, around here the poco provides us with a 320A meter base for this application. I know some pocos require a CT. But using the 320 saves time and money. I use two 200 amp feed thru lug panels by GE (TM820RCUFL). One nippled off each side of the meter. I suggest using a panel like this because it has breaker spaces in it, which comes in handy when you need to get power for that pool to go along with the new house. Use offset nipples, helps if you're on a wall thats not flat (like tumbled brick). The poco will likely parallel 4/0 conductors so be sure to use a 3" pipe. Also use a #2 BC for your GEC. Your meter will need double lugs on it for the load side so you can take a conductor from each leg and neutral to the seperate discos. Hope that helped!

[This message has been edited by arseegee (edited 04-07-2002).]

[This message has been edited by arseegee (edited 04-08-2002).]

Re: 400 amp #8862 04/08/02 07:29 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
R
Redsy Offline
Member
arseegee,
Are those GE panels installed outdoors to feed MLO panels indoors?

Re: 400 amp #8863 04/08/02 06:27 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 324
A
arseegee Offline
Member
Redsy, yes those panels are the service discos and I use a MB indoor panels for safety reasons.


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
richard
richard
L.I. New York
Posts: 99
Joined: August 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
271,022 Are you busy
205,030 Re: Forum
193,139 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3