ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
sec cable code conflict
by HotLine1. 11/19/18 02:34 PM
This anti-theist is priceless!!!
by Texas_Ranger. 11/17/18 02:15 PM
High current GFI vs regular GFCI
by Texas_Ranger. 11/17/18 02:07 PM
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 10 guests, and 21 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
400 amp #8860
04/07/02 08:12 PM
04/07/02 08:12 PM
S
stan  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 37
ky
Ive been in the electrical field now for about 4 years and something i have never done is install 2-200 amp panels ive never even looked at someone elses install how do u do this ? It is for a large custome home . It is my first big job on my own. Diagram would help alot to Help me guys!!

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: 400 amp #8861
04/07/02 08:39 PM
04/07/02 08:39 PM
A
arseegee  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 324
Statesboro, GA USA
Stan, do 'em every week. I often try to work one of my indoor panels as a lighting panel and the other as an equipment panel(A/C, WH, washer, dryer, cooking equip). This cuts down on light flicker when a motor load kicks in. As for outside, around here the poco provides us with a 320A meter base for this application. I know some pocos require a CT. But using the 320 saves time and money. I use two 200 amp feed thru lug panels by GE (TM820RCUFL). One nippled off each side of the meter. I suggest using a panel like this because it has breaker spaces in it, which comes in handy when you need to get power for that pool to go along with the new house. Use offset nipples, helps if you're on a wall thats not flat (like tumbled brick). The poco will likely parallel 4/0 conductors so be sure to use a 3" pipe. Also use a #2 BC for your GEC. Your meter will need double lugs on it for the load side so you can take a conductor from each leg and neutral to the seperate discos. Hope that helped!

[This message has been edited by arseegee (edited 04-07-2002).]

[This message has been edited by arseegee (edited 04-08-2002).]

Re: 400 amp #8862
04/08/02 06:29 AM
04/08/02 06:29 AM
R
Redsy  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
Bucks County PA
arseegee,
Are those GE panels installed outdoors to feed MLO panels indoors?

Re: 400 amp #8863
04/08/02 05:27 PM
04/08/02 05:27 PM
A
arseegee  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 324
Statesboro, GA USA
Redsy, yes those panels are the service discos and I use a MB indoor panels for safety reasons.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
waymag
waymag
dallas, texas, USA
Posts: 68
Joined: January 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 7
Popular Topics(Views)
251,617 Are you busy
188,750 Re: Forum
178,460 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.015s Queries: 14 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9592 MB (Peak: 1.0900 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-19 22:21:54 UTC