ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Do we need grounding?
by gfretwell - 04/06/24 08:32 PM
UL 508A SPACING
by tortuga - 03/30/24 07:39 PM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 35 guests, and 9 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#87932 05/04/04 07:33 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
E
EvanH Offline OP
Junior Member
When wiring industrial 3-phase motors, common practice as I've seen it has been to use wirenuts to connect leads to incoming power wires, and tape them off.

I recently received an IEEE-841 style motor, that has ring terminals on the motor leads. Is there some expectation or regulation that I must use some other kind of wire connection?

Does anyone know a reason I can't just snip off the ring terminals and use the wirenut technique?

Thanks,
Evan

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
 

#87933 05/05/04 12:33 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,527
B
Moderator
Page 19 for MSC-series motor-stub splice. Though there may be local variations, bolted connections in motor j-boxes are fairly universal. http://tnbelectricalworld.tnb.com/contractor/docs/shrinkon.pdf

In some plants, non-bolted splices are a “dismissible” offense. Given IEEE-841 motors are Petroleum and Chemical—Severe Duty, bolted connections are likely a default requirement.




[This message has been edited by Bjarney (edited 05-05-2004).]

#87934 05/05/04 09:42 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
E
EvanH Offline OP
Junior Member
Thanks for the response, and the splice insulator reference.

So for the splice itself, I put a similar ring terminal on my power conductor, and just use any bolt and nut that are the right size to fit through the ring terminals?

#87935 05/05/04 11:53 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,527
B
Moderator
It may be best to use the existing ring terminal to size the machine bolt and ring terminal for external wiring. The T&B MSCs list a maximum bolt length. Zinc-plated steel hardware with star lockwashers have worked well for me.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5