ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Ever been afflicted by Gout?
by mbhydro - 09/15/20 05:50 PM
Questioning the electrical norms
by gfretwell - 09/13/20 01:17 PM
120/208 gives 240? please clarify
by NORCAL - 09/13/20 01:08 AM
Lock-down Thread
by Trumpy - 09/11/20 11:17 PM
Grounded metal cabinet?
by HotLine1 - 09/10/20 12:19 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Scott35), 21 guests, and 12 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Pre bored studs #8753 04/03/02 02:28 PM
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 89
E
electrician02125 Offline OP
Member
Why can't they design a stud (2x4, 2x3) with pre bored holes for our wires and pipes ? Or do they and I have been doing it the hardway for all these years ?

Sort of like a metal stud with pre punched holes only made out of lumber.

Could I be on to something here ?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Pre bored studs #8754 04/03/02 07:09 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 64
R
Rabbit Offline
Member
The framers wouldn't line the holes up for you ,
just like metal framers [Linked Image]
I went to a wood framed job once where there were holes already drilled in the studs.
I thought the carpenters had done me a favor.
The GC said that it was Canadian lumber, and by drilling a hole in each 2x4 they became a "manufactured product" . Thus they were not subject to an import tax on lumber.
Can anyone confirm?

Re: Pre bored studs #8755 04/07/02 04:19 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 4
C
Chuck 0131 Offline
Junior Member
Also heard similar reason from local lumber yard, less Tax, although he said they call it Used lumber because of the pre-drilled holes.

CMC

Re: Pre bored studs #8756 04/07/02 09:03 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 324
A
arseegee Offline
Member
We've had pre drilled studs for a while here. Just can't find any framers that have enough sense to turn them all the same way.

Re: Pre bored studs #8757 04/09/02 03:58 AM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 95
J
joeh20 Offline
Member
We've had the predrilled studs here inTN for about five years. The big blue box store sells them,so they ain't used much. The first time we saw them I took a guy I worked with to go get some lumber and he got to a stack of them and started loading them when he realized they had holes in em. He showed me and said look somebody drilled em and brought em back. We didn't know the difference back then. The local lumber yard don't keep em. Now when can we get predrilled top plates 16" O.C., yeah right.


Lighting the way

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
CDS
CDS
Nicholson Ga
Posts: 34
Joined: June 2006
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 8
NORCAL 3
Popular Topics(Views)
269,919 Are you busy
204,351 Re: Forum
192,571 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3