ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by gfretwell. 09/23/18 02:50 PM
Inspection camera help
by petey_c. 09/22/18 07:52 AM
Motion detectors and dimmers
by gfretwell. 09/20/18 04:02 PM
Extension cords
by annemarie1. 09/20/18 08:54 AM
Acronis Backup 2017
by gfretwell. 09/16/18 12:46 AM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 38 guests, and 24 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Pre bored studs #8753
04/03/02 02:28 PM
04/03/02 02:28 PM
E
electrician02125  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 89
Why can't they design a stud (2x4, 2x3) with pre bored holes for our wires and pipes ? Or do they and I have been doing it the hardway for all these years ?

Sort of like a metal stud with pre punched holes only made out of lumber.

Could I be on to something here ?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Pre bored studs #8754
04/03/02 07:09 PM
04/03/02 07:09 PM
R
Rabbit  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 64
Kingsport Tennessee
The framers wouldn't line the holes up for you ,
just like metal framers [Linked Image]
I went to a wood framed job once where there were holes already drilled in the studs.
I thought the carpenters had done me a favor.
The GC said that it was Canadian lumber, and by drilling a hole in each 2x4 they became a "manufactured product" . Thus they were not subject to an import tax on lumber.
Can anyone confirm?

Re: Pre bored studs #8755
04/07/02 04:19 PM
04/07/02 04:19 PM
C
Chuck 0131  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 4
Loretta,WI, USA
Also heard similar reason from local lumber yard, less Tax, although he said they call it Used lumber because of the pre-drilled holes.

CMC

Re: Pre bored studs #8756
04/07/02 09:03 PM
04/07/02 09:03 PM
A
arseegee  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 324
Statesboro, GA USA
We've had pre drilled studs for a while here. Just can't find any framers that have enough sense to turn them all the same way.

Re: Pre bored studs #8757
04/09/02 03:58 AM
04/09/02 03:58 AM
J
joeh20  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 95
Tullahoma, TN, 37388
We've had the predrilled studs here inTN for about five years. The big blue box store sells them,so they ain't used much. The first time we saw them I took a guy I worked with to go get some lumber and he got to a stack of them and started loading them when he realized they had holes in em. He showed me and said look somebody drilled em and brought em back. We didn't know the difference back then. The local lumber yard don't keep em. Now when can we get predrilled top plates 16" O.C., yeah right.


Lighting the way

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
dougwells
dougwells
kamloops BC Canada
Posts: 1,149
Joined: May 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 13
Trumpy 9
Popular Topics(Views)
249,439 Are you busy
187,355 Re: Forum
176,695 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.017s Queries: 14 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9669 MB (Peak: 1.1044 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-09-24 20:00:55 UTC