ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
LED retrofit flickers
by rmiell. 01/18/19 08:49 PM
Israel
by Texas_Ranger. 01/14/19 07:12 AM
Free Code class in Maryland 1/16/2019
by Admin. 01/12/19 05:43 PM
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by RODALCO. 01/12/19 02:37 AM
sec cable code conflict
by jake2018. 01/11/19 07:36 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 20 guests, and 22 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
wire size?? #80485
04/19/02 10:13 PM
04/19/02 10:13 PM
D
daniel damon  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 31
Ambler,PA, USA
where in the 2002 code book can i find my ans. we need to put in five 200 amp services on a commercial building. five stores (strip). what size does the feeder need to be? itis coming off a tranformer next to the building. no markings on the transformer. i think they should be five 100 amp panels. the store is not that big, 25'x 60'. also can the feeders run along the side of the building, close to the top. my co-worker says yes. then we would tap off of 5 times. need help, thanks guys.

dan

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: wire size?? #80486
04/19/02 11:29 PM
04/19/02 11:29 PM
T
The Watt Doctor  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 435
Mont Belvieu, TX
In my opinion, you need to know what the load on each tent space is going to be.
Are they continuous, noncontiuous, motor loads, how much lighting, and what type, etc, etc, etc?
As it looks right now, you are about to build a 1000 amp service for a building that may not need half of that.
Try Parts I & II of article 220.

Regards,
Doc


The Watt Doctor
Altura Cogen
Channelview, TX
Re: wire size?? #80487
04/20/02 07:12 AM
04/20/02 07:12 AM
Tom  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,044
Shinnston, WV USA
Daniel,

Are you running feeders or are these service entrances? If this is not a service entrance, you'll need over current protection close to the transformer to protect the feeder.

Like Doc said, do the calculations, SWAGS aren't allowed in this case.

Tom


Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.
Re: wire size?? #80488
04/20/02 10:28 AM
04/20/02 10:28 AM
G
golf junkie  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 507
York, NE
"Try Parts I & II of article 220.
Regards,
Doc"

REGARDS!! Come on Doc, what's up with regards? Your fans have high expectations when we see your posts.....you can't let us down with a simple regards. [Linked Image]

GJ

Re: wire size?? #80489
04/20/02 09:39 PM
04/20/02 09:39 PM
D
daniel damon  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 31
Ambler,PA, USA
the owner of the place wanted 200 amp for each store. my boss told him he may not need that. he said that is what he wanted. i agree with what you are saying doc. tom these are service entrance, i think. the are coming from the tranformer. would that be feeders then? hey thanks for the help guys. also, is it ok to run the cables from the tranformer along the building, then tap off for each service?


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
mxslick
mxslick
Atomic City, ID USA
Posts: 803
Joined: October 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 4
Popular Topics(Views)
252,825 Are you busy
189,618 Re: Forum
179,282 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.024s Queries: 14 (0.006s) Memory: 0.9675 MB (Peak: 1.1080 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2019-01-23 09:42:33 UTC