ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Old low volt E10 sockets - supplier or alternative
by a_gunslinger - 04/21/24 12:21 AM
Do we need grounding?
by gfretwell - 04/06/24 08:32 PM
UL 508A SPACING
by tortuga - 03/30/24 07:39 PM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (a_gunslinger), 32 guests, and 10 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#79467 12/29/01 01:08 AM
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 2
J
jclark Offline OP
Junior Member
Does communications wiring (phone, CAT5E, coax, sound system) wiring need to be plenum rated when installed in the walls of a commercial building (the wall space is not used as a plenum in this case)?

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
 

#79468 12/29/01 05:21 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,749
Member
See the Definition of a "Plenum" in Article 100; and then see Section 300-22, and Articles 640; 800; and 820 in the 1999 NEC.
For those who ask these types of questions on this BB help is always available with specific references to the NEC.

If you don't have a code book you can order one here from the ECN Bookstore.

In the end the rules you really need are in Section 300-22(c)and in each Article that includes references to this section.

Why do you ask this question?


Joe Tedesco, NEC Consultant
#79469 12/30/01 01:20 AM
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 2
J
jclark Offline OP
Junior Member
I ask because my local Home Depot employees who claim to be electricians told me that any communications cable installed in a commercial building must be plenum rated. (They don't even know what a plenum is). I am aware of the definition of a plenum. And from everything I can find in the code, I only have to use plenum rated cable when installing in a plenum. But, I'm trying to get other input, because, once again, the Home Depot guys sware that that's the rule - ANY commercial wiring.

#79470 12/30/01 07:47 AM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,294
Member
Have the Home Depot "ulektrishon" look at the data/com wiring in his store.
Then, he should either digress, or report the (not a) violation he finds to the local Code Enforcement Officials.
You answered the Q yourself in the last part of your 1st post. Unless there's a specific reason (plenum ceiling, etc) to use p-rated cable, it's not required, commercial or not.
No more than you'd need sealtite in a dry location.

(On second thought maybe this guy should have any area he's in rated as a plenum. He certainly spouts some hot air!) [Linked Image]

[This message has been edited by electure (edited 12-30-2001).]

#79471 01/03/02 12:07 AM
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 270
E
Member
Disregard the Home Depot guys..after all, if they were electricians, they wouldn't be working at Home Depot! I suppose that if the commercial above-ceiling space was used as a plenum then the wall board would go all the way up to the top plate..if not, then the stud spaces would be the same air space as the plenum, and plenum rated cable would be required.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5