ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Questioning the electrical norms
by LongRunner - 09/23/20 06:38 AM
Smoke & mirrors?
by HotLine1 - 09/21/20 03:42 PM
Pool Lights?
by Papa - 09/18/20 05:26 PM
Ever been afflicted by Gout?
by mbhydro - 09/15/20 05:50 PM
120/208 gives 240? please clarify
by NORCAL - 09/13/20 01:08 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 22 guests, and 5 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Communications Wiring #79467 12/29/01 01:08 AM
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 2
J
jclark Offline OP
Junior Member
Does communications wiring (phone, CAT5E, coax, sound system) wiring need to be plenum rated when installed in the walls of a commercial building (the wall space is not used as a plenum in this case)?

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Communications Wiring #79468 12/29/01 05:21 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,749
Joe Tedesco Offline
Member
See the Definition of a "Plenum" in Article 100; and then see Section 300-22, and Articles 640; 800; and 820 in the 1999 NEC.
For those who ask these types of questions on this BB help is always available with specific references to the NEC.

If you don't have a code book you can order one here from the ECN Bookstore.

In the end the rules you really need are in Section 300-22(c)and in each Article that includes references to this section.

Why do you ask this question?


Joe Tedesco, NEC Consultant
Re: Communications Wiring #79469 12/30/01 01:20 AM
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 2
J
jclark Offline OP
Junior Member
I ask because my local Home Depot employees who claim to be electricians told me that any communications cable installed in a commercial building must be plenum rated. (They don't even know what a plenum is). I am aware of the definition of a plenum. And from everything I can find in the code, I only have to use plenum rated cable when installing in a plenum. But, I'm trying to get other input, because, once again, the Home Depot guys sware that that's the rule - ANY commercial wiring.

Re: Communications Wiring #79470 12/30/01 07:47 AM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,283
electure Offline
Member
Have the Home Depot "ulektrishon" look at the data/com wiring in his store.
Then, he should either digress, or report the (not a) violation he finds to the local Code Enforcement Officials.
You answered the Q yourself in the last part of your 1st post. Unless there's a specific reason (plenum ceiling, etc) to use p-rated cable, it's not required, commercial or not.
No more than you'd need sealtite in a dry location.

(On second thought maybe this guy should have any area he's in rated as a plenum. He certainly spouts some hot air!) [Linked Image]

[This message has been edited by electure (edited 12-30-2001).]

Re: Communications Wiring #79471 01/03/02 12:07 AM
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 270
E
Elzappr Offline
Member
Disregard the Home Depot guys..after all, if they were electricians, they wouldn't be working at Home Depot! I suppose that if the commercial above-ceiling space was used as a plenum then the wall board would go all the way up to the top plate..if not, then the stud spaces would be the same air space as the plenum, and plenum rated cable would be required.


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
CDS
CDS
Nicholson Ga
Posts: 34
Joined: June 2006
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 8
NORCAL 3
Popular Topics(Views)
270,026 Are you busy
204,422 Re: Forum
192,636 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3