ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Al Hildenbrand - Minneapolis - obituary
by bcpappas - 02/02/23 08:01 PM
Violation?
by renosteinke - 01/27/23 09:52 PM
Does NEC 551.71 (F) apply to dwellings?
by BigB - 01/20/23 10:46 AM
Power submeter connections
by HotLine1 - 01/19/23 09:09 AM
New in the Gallery:
Burger King crown sillyness
Burger King crown sillyness
by wa2ise, December 11
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 13 guests, and 11 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#79174 11/28/01 06:04 PM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 5
K
kaempfe Offline OP
Junior Member
I have an older 2 story home in Massachusetts and the main chimney is used only for exhausting the furnace. I want to run conduit from the basement to the attic to get eletric, cable, and phone lines to various rooms on the second floor. Can I run conduit up through the chimney chase if I stay as far away from the chimney as possible? Even if I commit to never using that chimney for anything else? Can someone explain the details of why you should keep wires from the chimney chase? Specifically, does the purpose of the chimney matter? Does distance from chimney matter? Does PVC vs metal conduit matter?

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 345
T
Member
What is the construction of the chimney and the chase? Is the chimney lined or unlined?
--
Tom


Tom Horne

"This alternating current stuff is just a fad. It is much too dangerous for general use" Thomas Alva Edison
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 5
K
kaempfe Offline OP
Junior Member
The chimney is brick - it is unlined and used only for the furnace and hot water heater flues. The chase is really just the framing but probably 4 inches or so from the brick on three sides and about 8-10 inches on the back side. I was "thinking" about putting the conduit up the back side as far from the chimney as possible. The main sanitary line for the second floor and the water lines for the second floor are already in that space but I wanted to bring the conduit from the basement up through the second floor into the attic. I checked the national code book and I couldn't find anything about NOT putting the conduit up through the chase but it did say to make sure the wires and conduit are rated for temp, the temp isn't too high, and you are careful to seal off the space around the conduit so that you prevent open access from basement to attic for fire spreading reasons.

I just got another email from someone reading this posting and they were pretty critical about not doing this. I'm just looking to make a good, sound, safe decision.

thoughts?

THANKS for your help!

-scott

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 345
T
Member
Buy a maximum temperature thermometer, available from stores selling weather measuring equipment http://premiergreenhouses.safeshopper.com/12/56.htm?341 , and place it in the top of the shaft for one week. Let me know what the highest temperature recorded was. I will try to figure out from that what the conducter size and type will need to be for your installation. One critical issue is the type of conduit you use. Electro metallic tubing would be a good choice. You have to be able to install the conduit in such a way that you can keep it's entire length away from the chimney surface itself. If you can not provide support every ten feet of tubing then you can not use conduit. One possibility is to run the tubing on the outside of the chase on the exterior of the building. In that application you could be sure that the ampacity for three current carrying conductors in conduit in free air would apply.
--
Tom


Tom Horne

"This alternating current stuff is just a fad. It is much too dangerous for general use" Thomas Alva Edison
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 308
S
Member
Check your chimney codes as well as your electric codes.

Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 6
D
Junior Member
just pull romex nothing wrong with that its done all the time or up the stack if there
is room around the pipe.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *
2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC Now Available!
 
* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Radar
Radar
Los Angeles
Posts: 349
Joined: April 2004
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 4
Popular Topics(Views)
303,012 Are you busy
232,108 Re: Forum
216,774 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5