ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
AFCI’s Revisited
by sparky - 09/24/22 09:58 AM
NFPA Price Increase Coming
by Bill Addiss - 09/23/22 02:22 PM
Siemens breakers
by gfretwell - 09/23/22 01:45 PM
What do you look like?II
by HotLine1 - 09/22/22 12:33 PM
Tough being a lineman's kid
by gfretwell - 09/21/22 03:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 13 guests, and 18 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#78905 11/07/01 08:09 PM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 129
F
frodo Offline OP
Member
hi,
i am installing a 100A service on a horse barn. i put up the meter base, drove the ground rod and connected a #6 bare ground to the meterbase.

i came from the meter base to a 100A panelboard with a 60A main. i used a #2 SE Cable. this cable has two insulated conductors and a bare stranded neutral.

if i am correct i beleive that once i bond the neutral bus with the bonding screw that will be all the grounding i need to do.

should i install a seperate ground from the panelboard back to the meterbase?

when i was doing large apartment complexes we used lots of se cable..the only ground i remember there was to the cold water.

any replies will be appreciated.

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

#78906 11/07/01 08:24 PM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 449
F
Member
It sounds correct, depending on what the utility prefers. In my area we have 2 electric utilities. One (REMC) requires you to make the ground rod connection in the meterbase and bond the neutral to the panel as you have done. The other utility(Cynergy)does not allow a ground rod connection in the meterbase. They want it in the panel and the meterbase enclosure is grounded via the neutral.

#78907 11/07/01 09:48 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,392
S
Member
547.12 has a 02' change, but i'm a tad confused about it.....

#78908 11/08/01 06:00 PM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 449
F
Member
I got cheated. My 99 and 02 code books don't have a 547.12!

#78909 11/12/01 08:32 PM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 280
M
Member
Frodo;
I am curious why would you install a 100 amp service and only use a 60 amp main ?
Our inspectors allow us to bond only at the service panel. As I understand it, once you bond the neutral any point after that should be a feeder. Once we bond the neutral we ground to the water pipe and drive two ground rods, and that pretty much cover our grounding.
If there is no city water then we bond to any metal interior water line from the well.
I guess thats why we ground and bond at the service panel, saves alot of confusion. One of our fellows grounded at the meter and was promptly gigged for it and had to regrond at the service panel, makes for a nice neat package.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
CDS
CDS
Nicholson Ga
Posts: 34
Joined: June 2006
Top Posters(30 Days)
Jim M 5
Trumpy 4
Popular Topics(Views)
297,362 Are you busy
228,239 Re: Forum
213,144 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5