ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Changing a Bulb
by gfretwell. 07/14/18 03:12 PM
Tray cable?
by gfretwell. 07/11/18 10:18 PM
Eaton Heavy Duty 30A and 60A Safety Switches
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:49 PM
ORTOVOX Recalls Avalanche Transceivers
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:44 PM
Tingle off the water spigot
by gfretwell. 07/08/18 12:58 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (HotLine1), 24 guests, and 16 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Allowable voltage drop in DC Circuits #75983
03/23/07 04:23 PM
03/23/07 04:23 PM
N
NJ_WVUGrad  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 47
Neptune, NJ, USA
I am working under the assumption that DC circuits fall under the maximum 3% allowable voltage drop as stipulated by the NEC.


Is this correct?

It is for DC feeds to radio equipment located on the roof of a building being fed from rectifers in the basement.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Allowable voltage drop in DC Circuits #75984
03/23/07 04:50 PM
03/23/07 04:50 PM
S
SteveFehr  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
Chesapeake, VA
NEC never actually requires 3%, just recommends it. I'd put this into the category of "it's always a good idea to oversize for voltage drop" though!

What's the acceptable DC voltage range of the equipment? If it can handle the drop, it's not a big deal.

Re: Allowable voltage drop in DC Circuits #75985
03/23/07 04:54 PM
03/23/07 04:54 PM
I
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
I agree with Steve, great idea to maintain less than 3% but not NEC required.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Re: Allowable voltage drop in DC Circuits #75986
03/23/07 07:54 PM
03/23/07 07:54 PM
HotLine1  Online Content

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,985
Brick, NJ USA
NJ:
This was a class 'discussion' item last nite.

Vd is a fpn (Fine Print Note), not 'Code' not mandatory.

Vd is a design issue, and could/may be debated via 110.3 (B)

'Good Practice' & 'Common Sense' are not in the NEC, but should be observed by all.

I would check the equipment for a voltage, and take a reading under load, if it's already installed. Or, I would do the calcs on paper beforehand, and 'lean' to a larger conductor.

John


John
Re: Allowable voltage drop in DC Circuits #75987
03/23/07 09:40 PM
03/23/07 09:40 PM
N
NJ_WVUGrad  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 47
Neptune, NJ, USA
Thanks for the input,

Now that everyone mentions it I remember this coming up in past.

The equipment runs 48vdc and the equip manufacturer states that the equip is fully operational down to 36vdc and they often crank up the output on the DC rectifiers to compensate.

I will just have to come up with allowable voltage drop calcs for these designs based on that criteria.

Thanks for the help

Re: Allowable voltage drop in DC Circuits [Re: NJ_WVUGrad] #160785
03/25/07 08:36 PM
03/25/07 08:36 PM
N
NJ_WVUGrad  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 47
Neptune, NJ, USA
Just curious about others opinions,

Designing engineer for the clients wants us (the consulting engineers) to spec out pulling a Cat5e cable in the same 2" conduit with (6) #2AWG DC cables for the radio equipment.

This cable is simply an alarm cable that will tell them if the door on the Equipment cabinet is open or closed.

The cable pulls will be in the range of 200-400'.

Anyone have any tips for getting the Cat5 pulled in with the #2's without tearing it up


Re: Allowable voltage drop in DC Circuits [Re: NJ_WVUGrad] #160791
03/25/07 09:09 PM
03/25/07 09:09 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,242
Estero,Fl,usa
Back in the olden days when we were pulling fiber with other fat conductors in ducts we pulled it in innerduct, a smurf tube like deal. That may not be an option in 2" tho. You need to do a fill calc.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Allowable voltage drop in DC Circuits [Re: gfretwell] #160807
03/26/07 06:38 AM
03/26/07 06:38 AM
S
SteveFehr  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
Chesapeake, VA
I see smurf tube all the time to protect the fiber optic cabling, but yeah, not an option. Mil-spec cat5 has a stronger jacket and would easily hold up, but it's expensive.

Why not just pull the cat5e in last?

Re: Allowable voltage drop in DC Circuits [Re: SteveFehr] #160810
03/26/07 07:16 AM
03/26/07 07:16 AM
R
resqcapt19  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
IL
If you have a couple of 90s, the Cat 5 is likely to be damaged or broken. We won't even install #14 control wires in with power wires larger than #4. This happens where there is a 90 near the end of the run. Some of the conductors will take the short path on the inside of the 90 and others will have to be a bit longer riding on the outside of the inner conductors. This extra length has to come from the feed end and if the Cat 5 is on the outside and if it can't slide by the other conductors it will stretch or break.
Don

Last edited by resqcapt19; 03/26/07 07:16 AM.

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
waymag
waymag
dallas, texas, USA
Posts: 68
Joined: January 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 5
Popular Topics(Views)
248,132 Are you busy
185,587 Re: Forum
174,922 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.041s Queries: 15 (0.014s) Memory: 1.0032 MB (Peak: 1.1743 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-07-19 18:58:29 UTC