ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Where is Everyone?
by luckyshadow - 11/21/21 10:14 AM
It's been an interesting career
by The Watt Doctor - 11/19/21 09:56 AM
Well I am back to stay (nearly 6 years)
by The Watt Doctor - 11/19/21 09:17 AM
Motor Load Relationships Between Fans and Pumps
by The Watt Doctor - 11/18/21 09:24 AM
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 11/05/21 06:45 AM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 50 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#75532 03/01/07 05:56 PM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 46
T
ToHo Offline OP
Member
Hello everyone....
Looked at a job today and needed to do a load calculation on the size of service this job will require. Customer has existing 200amp 3 phase 208v service. 7500 sq ft building. Built as a warehouse but being converted to a printing shop.It's been some time since the last load calculation so I want to make sure I'm not missing anything.Any hel[p in double checking my numbers is greatly appreciated.Here are my numbers w/ the proposed loads. Thanks ToHo

7500sq x 3.5 x 1.25% = 32812.5va
(AC Unit)60a x 220v = 13200va
(50 receptacles)x 180va = 9000va
TOTAL = 55012.5va
Other Outlets
50a x 220v = 11000
50a x 220v = 11000
50a x 220v = 11000
30a x 220v = 6600
30a x 220v = 6600
15a x 220v = 6600
15a x 220v = 6600
Total va = 52800
1st 10000va @100% = 10000
42800 @ 50% = 21400
60a x 220v(AC #2) x 25% = 16500
Grand Total of = 102912.5va
102912.5va / 360v = 285.8a

#75533 03/02/07 10:19 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 615
J
Member
Are you sure those RTU's aren't three phase?
How about your 50a, 30a, and 15a loads? single or three phase?

#75534 03/02/07 11:50 AM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 348
I
ITO Offline
Member
1) Lighting Load- (220.14-D) I don’t think you can use the 3.5va per foot. Print Shops and other production facilities are not covered under T220.12. Take a look at 220.14-D, you will need to use the actual lighting load for this calculation. (125%)

2) Receptacles- (220-14 I & L) The 180va is correct: 50 x 180 = 9,000va

3) Demand Factors for Receptacle load- (T220-44) Since you only have 50 x 180 = 9,000va this will note apply.

4) Water heater- (220-14 A) Will there be one? (125%)

5) Outside lighting- (220-14 F & 600.5 A) Will there be any? If yes 1,200va (minimum) @ (125%)

6) Heat/AC- (220-60) The larger of the 2 (100%)
Note: You can’t use the breaker size to determine the load, you will need to look at the name plate on the equipment.

7) Equipment- (220-14 A) List each piece of equipment and again you can’t determine the load by breaker size calculation, you need to get this info from the name plate or a cutsheet, and list them out individually. (100%)

8) Sign circuit- You have to do it, per (220-14 F): 1,200va @ (125%) = 1,500VA

9) Show window- (220-14 G)

10) Largest Motor- (220-14 C)- Add 25% of the largest motor load.

11) Add it all up and divide by 360 (208 x 1.72)


Edit- Water heater is 125%

[This message has been edited by ITO (edited 03-05-2007).]


101° Rx = + /_\
#75535 03/02/07 12:21 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Cat Servant
Member
I have a little trouble following those figures. It almost looks like you're "adding up the breakers."

I would approach a load calc a bit differently.

First, I would break up the area into different "occupancies," and apply the square foot calculation for my general lighting load.

I would add up all the general-purpose receptacles, and apply that watt multiplier.

Finally, I would look at specific equipment, and use the nameplate ratings.

I would review the plans, and the operations ... looking for continuous loads, additional lighting, etc.

This brings us back to the sq. ft. multiplier you started with; always calculate your known lighting load, and compare it to the per sq. ft. figure. The sq. ft multiplier is a minimum; you may very well exceed it. That sq. ft. multiplier is pretty much a useless figure, unless the actual loads are unknown (as in a commercial rental).


Let me give a general example. Assume a 20 amp circuit with 6 duplex receptacle. I would NOT base my calculations on 20A x 120V; rather, I would use 6 receptacles x 180 watts.

Or, if my shop lighting uses 10 fixtures, that were marked 1.1A on the ballasts, my calculation would be 10 x 1.1 x 1.25 for continuous use.

Likewise, the calculations are quite different for three phase than for single phase. It is important also to use the 'nominal' voltage of the system.

#75536 03/02/07 01:53 PM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 46
T
ToHo Offline OP
Member
Jps1006
All the loads are single phase 220v. I assume the company is moving from a facility that had only 120/220v single phase service.So from the info I have recieved there are no 3 phase loads.The existing AC units are single phase 220v. Why I'm not sure !!! Again.. Thank you .. all your help is appreciated. I have to get some name plate info from the supplier of the equipment. ToHo

#75537 03/04/07 06:26 AM
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 31
J
Junior Member
Any electrian worth his salt uses the code book for the base of his calculations. First go to chapter 9 in the code book and use the the examples that will refer you back to the 220 area of the code. Use these for your base, either the standard calculation or the optional. But you must use common sense, and remember the code book calculations are a minimum standard, if you feel that the service that you need is more than the minimum based on continious loads or other factors, you than must increase the service. An example is a motel with PTAC units, do size to a per centage or do size for the worst case, a zero degree day and the motel is full. You as the electrian have to make the decision.

Joe Ogle

#75538 03/04/07 02:44 PM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,288
Member
I believe ITO's covered it well.

Something that a whole lot of people need to keep in mind is that there is no 220V.
I see otherwise accomplished electricians talking 110 and 220 in their advertisements and everyday speech, and I just don't understand why.
[Linked Image]

From 220.5(A) Voltages.
Unless other voltages are specified, for purposes of calculating branch-circuit and feeder loads, nominal
system voltages of 120, 120/240, 208Y/120, 240, 347, 480Y/277, 480, 600Y/347, and 600 volts shall be used.



[This message has been edited by electure (edited 03-04-2007).]


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Admin
Admin
NY, USA
Posts: 3,669
Joined: October 2000
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 3
Popular Topics(Views)
286,194 Are you busy
218,639 Re: Forum
204,830 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5