ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
How's Florida doing with Hurricane Ian?
by Bill Addiss - 09/28/22 12:41 PM
Tough being a lineman's kid
by Bill Addiss - 09/28/22 12:39 PM
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 09/26/22 04:35 AM
AFCI’s Revisited
by sparky - 09/24/22 09:58 AM
NFPA Price Increase Coming
by Bill Addiss - 09/23/22 02:22 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 26 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
A
Junior Member
We just got a cooling table for production that may be moved around to differant locations. What I need to know is there a way to check for direction with out using refridge gauges , such as amp draw differance between directions without recking the compressor. the condenser fans are 120 volts so I can't go by them.

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 251
W
Member
Is it cord and plug connected? If so just get a 3phase rotation meter with the same plug. Test before connecting.

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
A
Junior Member
Yes it can be cord and plug connected,but the unit is sealed no external shaft .so how would you know if it was running in the right direction with the phrase rotation meter westuplace .

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,349
Likes: 1
Cat Servant
Member
First of all, talk to the manufacturer of the unit.

Taking liquid into the compressor can be a real disaster for the most common type of compressor. It is likely that the manufacturer has specific steps for you to take, in order to reduce this risk.

Indeed, having the HVAC guy empty the system prior to transport is likely a good idea in any event. An added bonus is that you can do your hook-up before the refrigerant is returned to the system.

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 251
W
Member
I assume the unit is hooked up and running now?
If so, just install a plug of the same type on the machine, on the phase meter. Use it to determine the phase rotation on the existing ckt. Note the rotation and make sure the other locations are the same. Many hermatic compressors do not care how they are hooked up, they will only pump one way.

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
A
Junior Member
Westuplace, to answer your comment ,no the unit was not running it came from another plant and found out the compressor does not work. hvac guy came out and changed the compressor and after that he told me he put a single phrase compressor in it. So it worked out better. Didn't see it yet. So thanks again for all the input Guys .

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 376
F
Member
A normal recipricating compressor will run fine regardless.A scroll wil scream bloody murder so you will know and a minute shouldn't hurt.I have installed plenty when i was a ref mach and never had a problem.If it is a scroll it may get reversed as it is moved from place to place.Scrolls are not ment to be portable if 3 phase or you will be in call-back hell.Any compressor can lock up.Wait at least 5 minutes before a restart on all ref equipment.
cheers



[This message has been edited by frank (edited 02-05-2007).]


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
watersparkfalls
watersparkfalls
Washington...Not DC
Posts: 240
Joined: March 2005
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
297,623 Are you busy
228,429 Re: Forum
213,286 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5