ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
Generator Cable Sizing
by ghost307. 10/16/17 09:04 AM
Thermal Imaging Camera upgrade
by SteveFehr. 10/15/17 08:15 PM
What do you do?
by SteveFehr. 10/15/17 08:11 PM
Another generator question
by SteveFehr. 10/15/17 08:00 PM
Good ol' copper pipe in the fuse holder trick
by Potseal. 10/14/17 11:03 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,325 Are you busy
177,271 Re: Forum
168,909 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 58 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#74128 - 01/13/07 11:55 AM Arc Fault  
Sparks30  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 125
Connecticut.usa
I know it been a while since I logged in, but I browse almost every night. I would like some input on a question that came up at the supply house. They are telling me the local inspector it requiring us to install 14-2-2 romex for the bedrooms. Now I have installed many Arc fault with regular 14-2 romex. Has anyone else hear of this. The 14-2-2 has two nuetrals going to it. One on the breaker and the other to the bar. Thanks


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#74129 - 01/13/07 12:21 PM Re: Arc Fault  
Active 1  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 687
Grayslake IL, USA
The only person that has the corect answer is the inspector or you could try and ask for the amendments/electrical code. Many places here have their building code online.

We don't use Romex here but the first thing I thought of was what if you only had a 1 BR home. Or a 2 BR you wanted to put on 1 circuit. What if the 2 BR home had the BR's on different floors or sids of the house.

My guess is just another code mith. Probibly came about by an apprentace saying why do we need to use this stuff and an owner not wanting to explain just saying bucause it's code now.


#74130 - 01/13/07 12:48 PM Re: Arc Fault  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,120
Estero,Fl,usa
What would you do with the second neutral?
You need two current carrying conductors with balanced current on each. Any connection to another neutral would trip the breaker.


Greg Fretwell

#74131 - 01/13/07 12:57 PM Re: Arc Fault  
e57  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
S.F.,CA USA
Considering that you are getting this information 3rd hand at the supply house counter, I would pay little head to it.

Active 1's advice about checking the local codes is a wise idea. Although there in no physical difference electricaly speaking in having 2 circuits in either (2) 12/2 cables, or a single 12/2/2 cable, there may be some other factor. For instance, localy I am required to have all conductors identified by the phase they are on, and not 'technically' the way the local code is written to phase tape them for identification, they need to have the color in the pigment of the insulation. So that means I would either have to get red/white conductor romex, or use 12/2/2. (Or 14/2/2 depending on the circuit.) FYI CH makes a 3-wire AFCI breaker....

Quote
One on the breaker and the other to the bar.

I have no idea what purpose that would serve or why it would need to be done.... Sounds BOGUS......


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason

#74132 - 01/13/07 03:56 PM Re: Arc Fault  
Roger  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,716
N.C.
Sounds to me as though the guys at the supply house get a commission on their sales.

Roger


#74133 - 01/14/07 10:57 AM Re: Arc Fault  
Sparks30  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 125
Connecticut.usa
I'll check with the inspector on Monday. Just wondering what everyone else uses or has heard of this. Thanks


#74134 - 01/14/07 11:52 AM Re: Arc Fault  
dilydalyer  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 59
tennessee
Never heard of any of this throughout the Florida romex panhandle...


#74135 - 01/14/07 02:14 PM Re: Arc Fault  
RobbieD  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 231
Canada
This is from-

http://www.mikeholt.com/mojonewsarchive/AFCI-HTML/HTML/AFCI_Update~20030320.htm


12-2-2 NM “Romex” was introduced to allow home runs for two AFCI circuits, as an AFCI can not have a shared neutral (due to ground fault protection). However, at least one manufacturer (Cutler Hammer) offers a 2-pole AFCI for home runs. Standard 12-2-1 NM “Romex” can be used. The 2-pole AFCIs are available with/without common trip for overcurrent and overload conditions; the trip is always common for an arcing or ground fault.


#74136 - 01/14/07 02:27 PM Re: Arc Fault  
Roger  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,716
N.C.
Robbie, that makes sense.

Roger


#74137 - 01/14/07 09:11 PM Re: Arc Fault  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,120
Estero,Fl,usa
All this to save a ground wire?
I can't imagine you are saving that much money.


Greg Fretwell

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Member Spotlight
Lostazhell
Lostazhell
Bakersfield, CA (Originally Orange Co.)
Posts: 1,431
Joined: February 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.015s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.8178 MB (Peak: 0.9946 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-16 21:51:13 UTC