ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
VFD MotorFeeders
by gfretwell. 10/19/17 01:02 AM
Generator Cable Sizing
by brsele. 10/18/17 07:39 PM
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 01:08 AM
Good ol' copper pipe in the fuse holder trick
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:16 PM
Another generator question
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:02 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,444 Are you busy
177,424 Re: Forum
169,010 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 13 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#72931 - 12/11/06 09:58 PM I have voltage drop  
JKWHITTED  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
BAY POINT
Coming from the breaker I have 240 but it drops down to 167 when I try to start blower motor. This goes through a phase converter. What could be the problem. I tested from the breaker


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#72932 - 12/12/06 12:36 AM Re: I have voltage drop  
ShockMe77  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 821
Rahway, New Jersey
How far away is the motor from the supply source?

What type and size are the conductors?

Phase converter's.... never worked with them before.


#72933 - 12/12/06 01:47 AM Re: I have voltage drop  
girl germs  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 26
Victoria, BC, Canada
Don't know about this in the "real world" but I remember reading that there needs to be a transformer to adjust the supply voltage before entering the converter, to ensure the correct three-phase voltage (208?)...

is the 167V at the breaker? Have you tested if the three-phase is balancing properly?

hmmm.... *confused*


#72934 - 12/12/06 03:14 AM Re: I have voltage drop  
JKWHITTED  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
BAY POINT
it is 50 feet away using #10 wire . it is a soil vapor extractor first time at this site. it is along the railroad and the power is coming from a drop from the railroad pole.


#72935 - 12/12/06 08:58 AM Re: I have voltage drop  
earlydean  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 751
Griswold, CT, USA
What is the blower load?

With the blower off what is the voltage after the phase converter?


Earl

#72936 - 12/12/06 09:19 AM Re: I have voltage drop  
JKWHITTED  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
BAY POINT
460


#72937 - 12/12/06 09:25 AM Re: I have voltage drop  
Zapped  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 482
Huntington Beach, CA, USA
If the supply voltage drops at the breaker, I would guess first that the problem is with the supply, and that the extra load is bringing the problem to the surface. It's probably either the PoCos problem, or you have a bad connection on your side.

Try tightening all lugs on your mains coming into the panel, and everywhere else that you can get to. Make sure all the busses are in good condition and that your breakers are seated properly and the contacts are all in good condition.

If that does nothing, call in your PoCo to check their connections at the x-fer and behind the meter (if you can't get behind the meter yourself because they have it locked out). ALWAYS BE THERE WHEN THEY COME OUT so you can show them the problem UNDER LOAD, or they will not see the problem at all.

I see this problem a lot pretty often,and it's usually a loose connection or a bad main feeder.

Please let us know what you find, and good luck!


#72938 - 12/12/06 09:41 AM Re: I have voltage drop  
JKWHITTED  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
BAY POINT
IT IS ON THE RAILROAD .. WE ARE GOING TO BRING IN GENERATOR IF WE CAN'T FIND A PROBLEM. I AM JUST WONDERING IF I HAD A BAD STARTER WOULD THIS CAUSE THIS.. I AM NOT ELECTRICIAN BUT HAVE GENERAL KNOWLEDGE. WHAT ABOUT THE PHASE CONVERTER ITSELF ? THANKS FOR YOU HELP



Member Spotlight
The_Lightman
The_Lightman
Orlando, Fl, USA
Posts: 49
Joined: August 2001
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.017s Queries: 14 (0.004s) Memory: 0.7923 MB (Peak: 0.9533 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-22 13:30:24 UTC