ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
12 Lead Motor Connection Weird
by emolatur - 01/19/22 02:40 PM
Any women electricians here?
by gfretwell - 01/17/22 01:44 PM
Well There's your problem.
by gfretwell - 01/08/22 12:17 AM
Happy New Year!!
by HotLine1 - 01/04/22 09:50 AM
Sangamo s309.2
by Robski - 12/31/21 04:54 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 47 guests, and 11 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#72931 12/11/06 08:58 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
J
Junior Member
Coming from the breaker I have 240 but it drops down to 167 when I try to start blower motor. This goes through a phase converter. What could be the problem. I tested from the breaker

#72932 12/11/06 11:36 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 821
S
Member
How far away is the motor from the supply source?

What type and size are the conductors?

Phase converter's.... never worked with them before.

#72933 12/12/06 12:47 AM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 26
G
Member
Don't know about this in the "real world" but I remember reading that there needs to be a transformer to adjust the supply voltage before entering the converter, to ensure the correct three-phase voltage (208?)...

is the 167V at the breaker? Have you tested if the three-phase is balancing properly?

hmmm.... *confused*

#72934 12/12/06 02:14 AM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
J
Junior Member
it is 50 feet away using #10 wire . it is a soil vapor extractor first time at this site. it is along the railroad and the power is coming from a drop from the railroad pole.

#72935 12/12/06 07:58 AM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 751
E
Member
What is the blower load?

With the blower off what is the voltage after the phase converter?


Earl
#72936 12/12/06 08:19 AM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
J
Junior Member
460

#72937 12/12/06 08:25 AM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 482
Z
Member
If the supply voltage drops at the breaker, I would guess first that the problem is with the supply, and that the extra load is bringing the problem to the surface. It's probably either the PoCos problem, or you have a bad connection on your side.

Try tightening all lugs on your mains coming into the panel, and everywhere else that you can get to. Make sure all the busses are in good condition and that your breakers are seated properly and the contacts are all in good condition.

If that does nothing, call in your PoCo to check their connections at the x-fer and behind the meter (if you can't get behind the meter yourself because they have it locked out). ALWAYS BE THERE WHEN THEY COME OUT so you can show them the problem UNDER LOAD, or they will not see the problem at all.

I see this problem a lot pretty often,and it's usually a loose connection or a bad main feeder.

Please let us know what you find, and good luck!

#72938 12/12/06 08:41 AM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
J
Junior Member
IT IS ON THE RAILROAD .. WE ARE GOING TO BRING IN GENERATOR IF WE CAN'T FIND A PROBLEM. I AM JUST WONDERING IF I HAD A BAD STARTER WOULD THIS CAUSE THIS.. I AM NOT ELECTRICIAN BUT HAVE GENERAL KNOWLEDGE. WHAT ABOUT THE PHASE CONVERTER ITSELF ? THANKS FOR YOU HELP


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
RH1
RH1
California
Posts: 22
Joined: August 2009
Top Posters(30 Days)
NORCAL 3
grich 1
Popular Topics(Views)
288,000 Are you busy
220,122 Re: Forum
206,117 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5