ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Danish type K Sockets
by winston_1 - 10/25/21 07:30 PM
Flexible Conduit?
by gfretwell - 10/24/21 01:59 AM
May I backfeed 3 phase transformer?
by dsk - 10/22/21 04:37 AM
Wire sizing
by gfretwell - 10/21/21 10:12 PM
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 10/21/21 02:03 AM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 33 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 55
W
wendel Offline OP
Member
Would someone recommend a step-down transformer for going from 240 volts to 120 volts that's reasonably priced. I only need about 10 amps on the 120 volt side.

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 751
E
Member
Is your load variable or constant?

If it is constant, hook it in series with the right size resistor (or an identical load).


Earl
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 821
S
Member
Couldn't you just reconfigure the termination points inside the panel?

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 599
J
JBD Offline
Member
Quote
that's reasonably priced

Reasonably priced for the seller is often not the same $$$ as for the buyer.

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 615
J
Member
Your not using this to minmize voltage drop for your saw are you?

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 55
W
wendel Offline OP
Member
Jps1006, that's exactly what I want to do. I have 240 volts available on the exterior of the house with long distances for tree trimming. I've fried a few saw motors already even being kind as far as letting them cool after a minute of use. I attribute my woes to too much current draw due to low voltage(120) at the end of the 100 foot extension chord and who knows how many receptical hops inside the house with all connections being push-in, not screwed. Am I crazy?

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 558
R
Member
Um, what kind of saw / motor is it?

I do understand where you are coming from in regards to voltage drop just through the house wiring "receptacle hops"...
My neighbour can NOT start his air compressor in his garage on the best of days... Lights dim, motor hums and the breaker trips ( yes its an FPE also [Linked Image]). Neighbour on the other side tried my electric pressure washer with similar results. Both times they were plugged in at the end of a 14 gauge circuit that was at the opposide end of the house from the panel and picked up a multitude of outlets with connections "under the screws" I might add in its 18 mile travel path around the house... Plug either of those motors into the outlet I have on the side of this house, opposite to where the service is and the ONLY outlet on the circuit, wired with #12 and these motors start and run without any problem, even if they are plugged into a cord..

So No I dont think your crazy, the wiring inside your house may not be helping either!

A.D

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 625
S
Member
How about using a 10 gauge extension cord plugged in as close to the panel as possible?


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Trumpy
Trumpy
SI,New Zealand
Posts: 8,407
Joined: July 2002
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 7
andey 1
Popular Topics(Views)
284,956 Are you busy
217,489 Re: Forum
203,777 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5