ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
VFD MotorFeeders
by gfretwell. 10/19/17 01:02 AM
Generator Cable Sizing
by brsele. 10/18/17 07:39 PM
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 01:08 AM
Good ol' copper pipe in the fuse holder trick
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:16 PM
Another generator question
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:02 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,444 Are you busy
177,424 Re: Forum
169,010 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 13 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#72351 - 11/25/06 09:17 PM Edwards QS4 Fire Alarm System  
CRM  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 74
Alberta Canada
I have to wire a Edwards QS4 system. I've been reading the manual, but I am unsure how to wire the sprinkler flow switches and the tamper switches on the valves. I'm going to have an addressable loop feeding the pull stations and heat detectors. Would I wire the flow switches in with the other devices and program them separate at the panel? And what about the tamper switches? Has anybody wired this system before? Thanks for any help.


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#72352 - 11/26/06 02:06 AM Re: Edwards QS4 Fire Alarm System  
Rewired  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 558
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
When I did the system at the retirement home we had a similar thing. Addressable system but we had to incorporate valves and flow / pressure switches into the system. There was a little "interface" kind of device that wired between your loop and the switch, what device was actually called I can't remember off the top of my head, but the device was wired into the loop like any other device, was powered off the loop and all you had to do is wire the contacts of your switch to it, set its address and program it in.
BTW in the building we did, there was one loop per floor and in the case of the ground floor this loop served ALL devices on that floor, pull stations, smokes, heats, and all the sprinkler flow / pressure/ tamper switches were on this loop but were programmed in as different "zones" as required. Tamper and pressure switches were programmed to show "trouble" and were wired in the same method as flow switches. Incidentaly it was a Simplex system but I am sure the edwards is similar.

A.D

[This message has been edited by Rewired (edited 11-26-2006).]


#72353 - 11/26/06 06:41 AM Re: Edwards QS4 Fire Alarm System  
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
I mean no offense but if your not familiar with the fire alarm codes and standard procedures you really should not be the one doing the programing.

We have the people who supply the system do the programing. A small mistake in programing can result in a system that does not work as it should.

The device needed to interface the addressable loop and dry contacts is usually referred to as a 'monitor module' but each maker calls them different names.

Like all things electrical there are many ways to get it done.

Lately we install separate modules (address's) for each flow and each tamper, that way you can get very specific info on the display screen.

For example

ALARM Sprinkler Flow South Stair Floor 2

Or

SUPERVISORY Tamper South Stair Floor 2

By the way, Siemens for instance sells a dual address monitor module which is perfect for one flow and one tamper. I am not sure if Edwards makes a dual unit.


You also will likely need output modules to control things like elevator recall and or smoke evac systems.

Good luck and keep asking questions, I like fire alarm work, it is a nice break from lights and plugs.

[This message has been edited by iwire (edited 11-26-2006).]


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts

#72354 - 11/26/06 06:57 AM Re: Edwards QS4 Fire Alarm System  
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
Another issue to keep in mind.

Fire alarm system addressable devices, smokes, heats, pulls, modules etc. have limits to how cold they can get.

Do not install any addressable devices in unheated spaces, most have a low limit of about 40 F.

If you need to provide say, heat detectors or pulls in unheated space you will have to use conventional pulls or heat detectors wired back to a monitor module located in a heated space.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts


Member Spotlight
The_Lightman
The_Lightman
Orlando, Fl, USA
Posts: 49
Joined: August 2001
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.014s Queries: 14 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7626 MB (Peak: 0.8958 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-22 13:32:32 UTC