ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Motion detectors and dimmers
by gfretwell. 09/20/18 04:02 PM
Extension cords
by annemarie1. 09/20/18 08:54 AM
Inspection camera help
by Bill Addiss. 09/19/18 10:50 PM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by gfretwell. 09/16/18 12:37 PM
Acronis Backup 2017
by gfretwell. 09/16/18 12:46 AM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (sabrown), 27 guests, and 21 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Edwards QS4 Fire Alarm System #72351
11/25/06 09:17 PM
11/25/06 09:17 PM
C
CRM  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 74
Alberta Canada
I have to wire a Edwards QS4 system. I've been reading the manual, but I am unsure how to wire the sprinkler flow switches and the tamper switches on the valves. I'm going to have an addressable loop feeding the pull stations and heat detectors. Would I wire the flow switches in with the other devices and program them separate at the panel? And what about the tamper switches? Has anybody wired this system before? Thanks for any help.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Edwards QS4 Fire Alarm System #72352
11/26/06 02:06 AM
11/26/06 02:06 AM
R
Rewired  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 558
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
When I did the system at the retirement home we had a similar thing. Addressable system but we had to incorporate valves and flow / pressure switches into the system. There was a little "interface" kind of device that wired between your loop and the switch, what device was actually called I can't remember off the top of my head, but the device was wired into the loop like any other device, was powered off the loop and all you had to do is wire the contacts of your switch to it, set its address and program it in.
BTW in the building we did, there was one loop per floor and in the case of the ground floor this loop served ALL devices on that floor, pull stations, smokes, heats, and all the sprinkler flow / pressure/ tamper switches were on this loop but were programmed in as different "zones" as required. Tamper and pressure switches were programmed to show "trouble" and were wired in the same method as flow switches. Incidentaly it was a Simplex system but I am sure the edwards is similar.

A.D

[This message has been edited by Rewired (edited 11-26-2006).]

Re: Edwards QS4 Fire Alarm System #72353
11/26/06 06:41 AM
11/26/06 06:41 AM
I
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
I mean no offense but if your not familiar with the fire alarm codes and standard procedures you really should not be the one doing the programing.

We have the people who supply the system do the programing. A small mistake in programing can result in a system that does not work as it should.

The device needed to interface the addressable loop and dry contacts is usually referred to as a 'monitor module' but each maker calls them different names.

Like all things electrical there are many ways to get it done.

Lately we install separate modules (address's) for each flow and each tamper, that way you can get very specific info on the display screen.

For example

ALARM Sprinkler Flow South Stair Floor 2

Or

SUPERVISORY Tamper South Stair Floor 2

By the way, Siemens for instance sells a dual address monitor module which is perfect for one flow and one tamper. I am not sure if Edwards makes a dual unit.


You also will likely need output modules to control things like elevator recall and or smoke evac systems.

Good luck and keep asking questions, I like fire alarm work, it is a nice break from lights and plugs.

[This message has been edited by iwire (edited 11-26-2006).]


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Re: Edwards QS4 Fire Alarm System #72354
11/26/06 06:57 AM
11/26/06 06:57 AM
I
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
Another issue to keep in mind.

Fire alarm system addressable devices, smokes, heats, pulls, modules etc. have limits to how cold they can get.

Do not install any addressable devices in unheated spaces, most have a low limit of about 40 F.

If you need to provide say, heat detectors or pulls in unheated space you will have to use conventional pulls or heat detectors wired back to a monitor module located in a heated space.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
CDS
CDS
Nicholson Ga
Posts: 34
Joined: June 2006
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 13
Trumpy 11
sparky 9
Popular Topics(Views)
249,313 Are you busy
187,255 Re: Forum
176,613 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.022s Queries: 14 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9618 MB (Peak: 1.0943 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-09-20 22:52:00 UTC