ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 6
doc 3
Recent Posts
Bathroom electrical
by doc. 08/19/17 06:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
Fire alarm phone lines and color coding
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
239,955 Are you busy
175,546 Re: Forum
167,799 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Admin), 54 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
#69233 - 09/02/06 04:56 PM Pulling out old feeder wires underground  
skipr  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 39
Huntington Beach, Ca.
I have 4 350 mcm wires about 250 feet underground from switchgear to vault. I have tried everything to pull these wires out, they don't move an inch. Anybody have a method I can try? The 4 inch conduit needs to be reused for the school facility upgrade.Plus I have salvage rights for the copper.

[This message has been edited by skipr (edited 09-02-2006).]


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#69234 - 09/02/06 06:16 PM Re: Pulling out old feeder wires underground  
LK  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,429
New Jersey
"The 4 inch conduit needs to be reused"

May be time to find a new engineer for this job, sounds like he thinks he can save some bucks by trying to resuse the conduit, we usually never bid a job like that, with the intention that the conduit can be reused, usually what you find even if you can pull the feeders, is damaged conduit, not much good for pulling new feeders, shorter runs smaller feeders, you may have some luck, when you dig up the existing run, you will most likely find, either crimped conduit or a shift in the run near a coulping, or bend.

Just wondering, what did the old feeders meg out at?


[This message has been edited by LK (edited 09-02-2006).]


#69235 - 09/02/06 06:16 PM Re: Pulling out old feeder wires underground  
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
You're probably out of luck.... and have some digging in your future!

It is fairly common for ponduit to be damaged during backfill, compaction, etc. This is particularily true when the pipe was installed by non-electricians, not buried deep enough, clean fill was not used, and the pavemant is subject to heavy traffic.

First I would sugest hooking up an air compressor. You might blow the blockage free. You certainly ought to be able to hear the air exit the pipe.

If you haven't done it already, trace out the line, marking the pavement as you go along. It is possible that there is a buried splice box. (See "A well buried box" in the picture forum).


#69236 - 09/02/06 07:26 PM Re: Pulling out old feeder wires underground  
Theelectrikid  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 810
Levittown, PA


Is there anyone on board who knows how to fly a plane?

#69237 - 09/02/06 07:43 PM Re: Pulling out old feeder wires underground  
resqcapt19  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
IL
You could try some of this . There is also a cable removal puller that puts a tension on the cable and then vibrates it to break it loose. I don't know who makes it. I remember reading about it a few years ago.
Don


Don(resqcapt19)

#69238 - 09/02/06 07:46 PM Re: Pulling out old feeder wires underground  
resqcapt19  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
IL
I've also had some luck hooking a fire hose to one end of the conduit and letting it flush out the silt. This will only work if you have a place to let the water and silt run out on one end. When I did it, we flushed from inside of the building out to a manhole and then pumped out the manhole.
Don


Don(resqcapt19)

#69239 - 09/02/06 09:02 PM Re: Pulling out old feeder wires underground  
Surfinsparky  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 73
merritt island fl usa
Two words

Back hoe


#69240 - 09/02/06 09:29 PM Re: Pulling out old feeder wires underground  
LK  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,429
New Jersey
If we installed the conduits like the utility does, there would be no problem, OVERSIZED, but usually when a contractor does the job, what is the smallest i can get away with, switchgear to vault, is usually oversized, and can be pulled.

[This message has been edited by LK (edited 09-02-2006).]


#69241 - 09/02/06 09:43 PM Re: Pulling out old feeder wires underground  
Surfinsparky  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 73
merritt island fl usa
A 4" conduit with 350 mcm in it should come out.Get a choker and some muscle.


#69242 - 09/02/06 10:29 PM Re: Pulling out old feeder wires underground  
Theelectrikid  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 810
Levittown, PA
Not to be cliche, but,

"Dynamite! TNT! Things that go boom! PBX! (Plastic Bonded Explosive, thanks Alan B! [Linked Image]) All that fun stuff that's illegal for good reason but we have around anyways!

Ian A.


Is there anyone on board who knows how to fly a plane?

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5

Member Spotlight
mersadrad
mersadrad
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 28
Joined: March 2011
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.015s Queries: 15 (0.002s) Memory: 0.8226 MB (Peak: 1.0001 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-19 20:38:49 UTC