ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
Casino Wiring methods
by HotLine1. 12/09/17 10:44 AM
Ground wire Size to water Line.
by HotLine1. 12/05/17 12:11 PM
Flexible conduit to an outside Spa
by gfretwell. 12/05/17 12:28 AM
2017 NEC Changes
by luckyshadow. 12/04/17 06:08 PM
Dimmable LED 2x4 lay in fixtures
by Vulsion. 11/30/17 06:37 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
242,990 Are you busy
179,381 Re: Forum
170,345 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 17 guests, and 13 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#68969 - 08/22/06 10:05 AM wireless switches  
NJI  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 33
Oneonta, NY USA
Mornin, does any one remeber the couple brands of wire less three way's??? Leviton seems to have an idea or two but at some point i saw something in a toggle style i like better... just can't remeber were.


I have worked as an apprentice and on to a journeyman in a general construction company. 90% of what I do is residential. I have an associats degree in electrical technology. I have started my own buisness this year and am with out the help of other electricians. this is why i find this site so helpful.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#68970 - 08/22/06 11:34 AM Re: wireless switches  
macmikeman  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 717
Honolulu, Hawaii
Probably on the dimmer rack at Home Depot


#68971 - 08/22/06 11:34 AM Re: wireless switches  
SolarPowered  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 625
Palo Alto, CA, USA
I'm not clear if you are asking for something that operates by radio, or something that operates over the power line, but doesn't need a specific switching connection between the switches. For the latter, I like SmartHome's Insteon line www.insteon.net . Here's the toggle version:

http://www.smarthome.com/2466dw.html


#68972 - 08/22/06 09:03 PM Re: wireless switches  
BigB  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 721
Tucson, AZ USA
Heath makes the toggle one. I also like the Smarthome versions better, they not only have PLC but also RF models for total wireless at the switch. Insteon is their premium brand which uses both PLC and RF signals simultaneously. The Heath is kind of a clunker with a big ugly box that sticks out like a wiremold box.


#68973 - 08/22/06 10:06 PM Re: wireless switches  
NJI  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 33
Oneonta, NY USA
well, i'll check them out here, and have a look. What i need is to be able to contol a light on a barn 120 ft from a house. I would like to have a switch in the barn and a switch in the house.


I have worked as an apprentice and on to a journeyman in a general construction company. 90% of what I do is residential. I have an associats degree in electrical technology. I have started my own buisness this year and am with out the help of other electricians. this is why i find this site so helpful.

#68974 - 08/23/06 09:57 AM Re: wireless switches  
Sixer  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 265
Canada


Sixer

"Will it be cheaper if I drill the holes for you?"

#68975 - 08/23/06 08:17 PM Re: wireless switches  
HLCbuild  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 209
Herndon,Va USA
try Home Controls x-10 3-way

http://www.homecontrols.com/cgi-bin/hci.pl?pgm=co_disp&func=displ&strfnbr=2&prrfnbr=2382&sesent=0,0&search_id=98197


#68976 - 08/24/06 08:24 PM Re: wireless switches  
ehill  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 27
fwiw... tmkā€¦ The only RF INSTEON products at the moment are the phase-coupling units.

That's explained a bit more in:
http://www.insteon.net/pdf/insteondetails.pdf

Page 12 and 14 show how the different types of INSTEON devices communicate with each other.

I think their marketing materials make it easy to believe that the SwitchLinc Relays and Dimmers are RF, but they are only PL right now.

Eric


#68977 - 08/24/06 08:29 PM Re: wireless switches  
ehill  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 27
fwiw, part 2...

INSTEON is pretty cost effective. Much more reliable than X10, too.

Would I install it for a customer? Humm... Depends upon the customer. Probably not. I've had a couple of problems that would cause a call-back. That said, I would consider it.

We have a HD in the area that stocks them, I've been told.

Eric

[This message has been edited by ehill (edited 08-24-2006).]



Member Spotlight
dougwells
dougwells
kamloops BC Canada
Posts: 1,141
Joined: May 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.014s Queries: 14 (0.002s) Memory: 0.8006 MB (Peak: 0.9665 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-12-11 00:13:10 UTC