ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 4
Recent Posts
Dimmable LED 2x4 lay in fixtures
by gfretwell. 12/13/17 09:49 PM
2017 NEC Changes
by sparky. 12/13/17 06:57 PM
Casino Wiring methods
by HotLine1. 12/09/17 10:44 AM
Ground wire Size to water Line.
by HotLine1. 12/05/17 12:11 PM
Flexible conduit to an outside Spa
by gfretwell. 12/05/17 12:28 AM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
243,039 Are you busy
179,474 Re: Forum
170,399 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 29 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#68277 - 08/01/06 03:52 PM Wiring 15A Receptacles  
SteveFehr  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
Chesapeake, VA
Are those cheap 15A receptacles rated to be wired up as a pass-through for a 20A receptacle circuit? EG, put the wire in from panel on one screw, and out to the next rcpt on the other screw? There isn't any labeling on them to indicate that the jumper bar is rated for 20A, but I've seen this done before.


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#68278 - 08/01/06 03:55 PM Re: Wiring 15A Receptacles  
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
Yes, and you can find the info in the UL white book (General Directory)

If you really look at the same grade and brand 15 and 20 amp receptacles you will find the 'guts' are the same only the plastic face is different.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts

#68279 - 08/01/06 04:19 PM Re: Wiring 15A Receptacles  
Roger  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,716
N.C.
Steve, I agree with Bob, and will add that if you are dealing with a multi-wire branch circuit the neutral must be pigtailed, see 300.13(B)

Roger


#68280 - 08/01/06 06:44 PM Re: Wiring 15A Receptacles  
SteveFehr  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
Chesapeake, VA
Thanks guys, that makes it easy [Linked Image] I only have 1 multiwire string in the whole house (two 240V 30A tool outlets in the shop) and was planning to pigtail it regardless!


#68281 - 08/02/06 06:20 AM Re: Wiring 15A Receptacles  
vlad_tepish  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 39
Delavan,Wis,USA
we always pigtail both hot and neut."pretend there is only one screw on each side"


Patrick

#68282 - 08/03/06 06:19 AM Re: Wiring 15A Receptacles  
electure  Offline


Member
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,262
Fullerton, CA USA
Steve if your 240 volt tool circuit doesn't have a neutral, it's not a multiwire branch circuit.



Member Spotlight
Grover
Grover
Sebago, ME, USA
Posts: 109
Joined: January 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.012s Queries: 14 (0.002s) Memory: 0.7764 MB (Peak: 0.9210 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-12-14 14:55:51 UTC