ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
Generator Cable Sizing
by brsele. 10/18/17 07:39 PM
VFD MotorFeeders
by ghost307. 10/18/17 02:39 PM
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 01:08 AM
Good ol' copper pipe in the fuse holder trick
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:16 PM
Another generator question
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:02 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,378 Are you busy
177,334 Re: Forum
168,952 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 38 guests, and 14 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#66573 - 06/08/06 07:25 PM Generac Generator 100 amp ats  
sid123456  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 71
Florida
I have a 12 or 15 kw Generac generator to install. I has that quick install 100 amp ats, but the generator has a 65 amp breaker on it. I can't find the main breaker size anywhere. Is it 100amps? The ats is a 100 amps.


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#66574 - 06/08/06 07:34 PM Re: Generac Generator 100 amp ats  
frenchelectrican  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 939
Wi/ Paris France { France for ...
one thing about this genarac ATS it should have a main breaker in there kinda hidden in the mess.

just want to head up some inspectors want to actally see the breaker set up it can be pain in the butt.

for some ats some do labeled as " listed for servcie enternce " some dont if have main breaker it should be listed.

i dealt few generac generators few time and myself i am not crazy with Genrarc ATS because i feel little " cheesy " with this set up.

to find it you have to look at the breaker or contractor[s] and interlock beam there it should be there near bottom of ats set up

Merci , Marc


the other thing i overlook on this one if dont have main breaker in there you have to add one but please do check the generator dealer where you got this because there are few diffrent verison of ATS on this size



[This message has been edited by frenchelectrican (edited 06-08-2006).]


Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)


#66575 - 06/09/06 02:12 PM Re: Generac Generator 100 amp ats  
Larry Fine  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 693
Richmond, VA
The current rating of an ATS refers to the maximum current it can carry through its contacts in any direction. If the main service is 100 amps, you're okay. If it's 150 or 200, you need a 200-amp ATS.

This has nothing to do with the rating of the generator's breaker; that's there to protect the generator from overload. If you attempt to use more current than the generator can produce, its breaker will trip.


Larry Fine
Fine Electric Co.
fineelectricco.com

#66576 - 06/09/06 04:35 PM Re: Generac Generator 100 amp ats  
sid123456  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 71
Florida
Thanks so much guys.... I understand now.



Member Spotlight
Admin
Admin
NY, USA
Posts: 3,458
Joined: October 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.012s Queries: 14 (0.002s) Memory: 0.7612 MB (Peak: 0.8931 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-19 00:00:20 UTC