ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Linear Power Supply Quits Under Load
by sabrown. 10/17/18 05:06 PM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by dsk. 10/17/18 01:25 PM
PLC/HMI Enclosure C2, D1
by ghost307. 10/16/18 03:31 PM
Tingle off the water spigot
by dsk. 10/15/18 02:36 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 30 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Generac Generator 100 amp ats #66573
06/08/06 07:25 PM
06/08/06 07:25 PM
S
sid123456  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 71
Florida
I have a 12 or 15 kw Generac generator to install. I has that quick install 100 amp ats, but the generator has a 65 amp breaker on it. I can't find the main breaker size anywhere. Is it 100amps? The ats is a 100 amps.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Generac Generator 100 amp ats #66574
06/08/06 07:34 PM
06/08/06 07:34 PM
F
frenchelectrican  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 939
Wi/ Paris France { France for ...
one thing about this genarac ATS it should have a main breaker in there kinda hidden in the mess.

just want to head up some inspectors want to actally see the breaker set up it can be pain in the butt.

for some ats some do labeled as " listed for servcie enternce " some dont if have main breaker it should be listed.

i dealt few generac generators few time and myself i am not crazy with Genrarc ATS because i feel little " cheesy " with this set up.

to find it you have to look at the breaker or contractor[s] and interlock beam there it should be there near bottom of ats set up

Merci , Marc


the other thing i overlook on this one if dont have main breaker in there you have to add one but please do check the generator dealer where you got this because there are few diffrent verison of ATS on this size



[This message has been edited by frenchelectrican (edited 06-08-2006).]


Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)

Re: Generac Generator 100 amp ats #66575
06/09/06 02:12 PM
06/09/06 02:12 PM
L
Larry Fine  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 693
Richmond, VA
The current rating of an ATS refers to the maximum current it can carry through its contacts in any direction. If the main service is 100 amps, you're okay. If it's 150 or 200, you need a 200-amp ATS.

This has nothing to do with the rating of the generator's breaker; that's there to protect the generator from overload. If you attempt to use more current than the generator can produce, its breaker will trip.


Larry Fine
Fine Electric Co.
fineelectricco.com
Re: Generac Generator 100 amp ats #66576
06/09/06 04:35 PM
06/09/06 04:35 PM
S
sid123456  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 71
Florida
Thanks so much guys.... I understand now.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Samurai
Samurai
Fl.
Posts: 46
Joined: May 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 11
Popular Topics(Views)
250,397 Are you busy
188,007 Re: Forum
177,574 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.016s Queries: 14 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9604 MB (Peak: 1.0923 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-10-18 22:26:21 UTC