ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Furnace igniter leaking noise to stereo
by geoff in UK. 05/23/18 01:18 PM
Opinions Please
by Keith_Mc. 05/23/18 09:22 AM
Quickbooks
by Keith_Mc. 05/23/18 09:19 AM
Accounting
by Keith_Mc. 05/23/18 09:16 AM
Don't you buy this stuff
by gfretwell. 05/23/18 01:41 AM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 41 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Ungrounded fusebox #64455
04/07/06 07:14 PM
04/07/06 07:14 PM
A
adameby  Offline OP
Junior Member
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Iowa
My home has several fuseboxes in different locations. The original knob and tube wiring (where accessable) has been replaced with two conductor wiring (no ground). Still kt in the ceilings though.

I would like to replace portions of the wiring with modern grounded wire which will allow me to use grounded receptacles.

The fusebox does not currently have an earth ground. Can I add a ground rod and a terminal strip (near the fusebox) to attach the ground wires for new wiring? Eventually, I would like to install a new 200amp service panel and then this would all go away. I was just wondering what my options were. Any thoughts on partially modernizing an old electrical service?

Adam

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Ungrounded fusebox #64456
04/07/06 07:28 PM
04/07/06 07:28 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,965
Brick, NJ USA
Welcome to ECN. Your profile does not indicate if you are an electrician, but I offer the following:

Bite the bullet now, do the service upgrade, and rewire. Attempting to "add" a ground bar and a driven electrode is not a solution.

John


John
Re: Ungrounded fusebox #64457
04/07/06 07:42 PM
04/07/06 07:42 PM
A
adameby  Offline OP
Junior Member
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Iowa
Thanks for the reply. I am not an electrician. Just an overly curious DIYer.

I was just hoping to squeeze a few more years out of the old service before I tackled that project.

Is it pretty common for the old fuseboxes to be ungrounded? I don't mind replacing the odd fuse from time to time but I would like to have properly grounded outlets.

Re: Ungrounded fusebox #64458
04/07/06 08:28 PM
04/07/06 08:28 PM
S
ShockMe77  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 821
Rahway, New Jersey
If you want properly grounded receptacles, the k&t in existing locations will obviously have to be rewired.

Updating your service should only be done by a qualified electrician. A service upgrade is no job for a homeowner simply because there is alot you need to know before jumping into it, like the proper size GEC for a 200amp service. Do you know what that is? Do you know if there are any multiwire branch circuits, and do you know how to properly install them onto the bussbar?

The last thing you want to do is start a project like this and still be in the dark with no power well after it's already dark again.

just my opinion.

Re: Ungrounded fusebox #64459
04/07/06 08:51 PM
04/07/06 08:51 PM
Admin  Offline

Administrator
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,496
NY, USA
Adam,

Sorry, but the best and only advice we can give you here is to have a knowledgable and experienced Electrician look at what you have in person and tell you what your options are.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
JoeKP
JoeKP
Berkley, MA
Posts: 144
Joined: March 2008
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
twh 12
Popular Topics(Views)
246,882 Are you busy
184,227 Re: Forum
173,461 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.021s Queries: 14 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9678 MB (Peak: 1.1052 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-05-23 18:39:06 UTC