ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 2
Recent Posts
2017 NEC Changes
by gfretwell. 12/13/17 02:44 AM
Casino Wiring methods
by HotLine1. 12/09/17 10:44 AM
Ground wire Size to water Line.
by HotLine1. 12/05/17 12:11 PM
Flexible conduit to an outside Spa
by gfretwell. 12/05/17 12:28 AM
Dimmable LED 2x4 lay in fixtures
by Vulsion. 11/30/17 06:37 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
243,028 Are you busy
179,434 Re: Forum
170,384 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 23 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#64455 - 04/07/06 06:14 PM Ungrounded fusebox  
adameby  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Iowa
My home has several fuseboxes in different locations. The original knob and tube wiring (where accessable) has been replaced with two conductor wiring (no ground). Still kt in the ceilings though.

I would like to replace portions of the wiring with modern grounded wire which will allow me to use grounded receptacles.

The fusebox does not currently have an earth ground. Can I add a ground rod and a terminal strip (near the fusebox) to attach the ground wires for new wiring? Eventually, I would like to install a new 200amp service panel and then this would all go away. I was just wondering what my options were. Any thoughts on partially modernizing an old electrical service?

Adam


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#64456 - 04/07/06 06:28 PM Re: Ungrounded fusebox  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,878
Brick, NJ USA
Welcome to ECN. Your profile does not indicate if you are an electrician, but I offer the following:

Bite the bullet now, do the service upgrade, and rewire. Attempting to "add" a ground bar and a driven electrode is not a solution.

John


John

#64457 - 04/07/06 06:42 PM Re: Ungrounded fusebox  
adameby  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Iowa
Thanks for the reply. I am not an electrician. Just an overly curious DIYer.

I was just hoping to squeeze a few more years out of the old service before I tackled that project.

Is it pretty common for the old fuseboxes to be ungrounded? I don't mind replacing the odd fuse from time to time but I would like to have properly grounded outlets.


#64458 - 04/07/06 07:28 PM Re: Ungrounded fusebox  
ShockMe77  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 821
Rahway, New Jersey
If you want properly grounded receptacles, the k&t in existing locations will obviously have to be rewired.

Updating your service should only be done by a qualified electrician. A service upgrade is no job for a homeowner simply because there is alot you need to know before jumping into it, like the proper size GEC for a 200amp service. Do you know what that is? Do you know if there are any multiwire branch circuits, and do you know how to properly install them onto the bussbar?

The last thing you want to do is start a project like this and still be in the dark with no power well after it's already dark again.

just my opinion.


#64459 - 04/07/06 07:51 PM Re: Ungrounded fusebox  
Admin  Offline

Administrator
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,460
NY, USA
Adam,

Sorry, but the best and only advice we can give you here is to have a knowledgable and experienced Electrician look at what you have in person and tell you what your options are.



Member Spotlight
SafetyWired
SafetyWired
Pa, USA
Posts: 44
Joined: July 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.014s Queries: 14 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7694 MB (Peak: 0.9088 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-12-13 18:57:38 UTC