ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
sec cable code conflict
by HotLine1. 11/20/18 03:08 PM
This anti-theist is priceless!!!
by Texas_Ranger. 11/17/18 02:15 PM
High current GFI vs regular GFCI
by Texas_Ranger. 11/17/18 02:07 PM
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 32 guests, and 24 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
VFD"s #63093
03/06/06 05:25 PM
03/06/06 05:25 PM
C
circuit man  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 273
saluda,s.c.
i have a question about variable frequency drives.can one unit run more than more than one motor of the same horsepower & voltage?the reason i ask is we have a machine that turns spindles for buffing stainless steel. we use a 40:1 ratio gearbox now , but that is still too fast.this machine has 12 spindles. i belive each motor is 3hp 3 phase 440 volts 1725 rpm.if a VFD can control more than one, how many max?THANKS for any replies!

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: VFD"s #63094
03/06/06 06:41 PM
03/06/06 06:41 PM
S
Surfinsparky  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 73
merritt island fl usa
I am no expert on vfd's.You usually install one for each motor.But I have also not installed them on such small motors.I would think a cheaper type of speed control would be better.I do not see why you could'nt supply two motors with one.Just my two cents I guess.

Re: VFD"s #63095
03/06/06 07:01 PM
03/06/06 07:01 PM
W
Wolfgang  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 153
the very West of Germany
You can. But you will have to add motor protection for each motor, whereas with just one motor the vfd usually will do that job also.

Re: VFD"s #63096
03/06/06 07:52 PM
03/06/06 07:52 PM
C
circuit man  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 273
saluda,s.c.
wolfgang,would you add up the total horsepower of all the motors & buy that size unit or would the single motor size work?the example would be 3hp X 12 for a total of 36 hp.surfinsparky, what kind of speed control could be mounted in a starter cabinet? all 12 of these motors run at once.

Re: VFD"s #63097
03/06/06 08:21 PM
03/06/06 08:21 PM
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
I have never tried multiple motors on one VFD....and I'm not sure I'd want to!
Regardless of the nominal RPM of a motor, every motor is going to run a little bit different. Likewise, the load applied to each motor is going to vary slightly.
Invariably, production lines have some means to adjust the line between stages, to account for these factors. Yet, I still would not count on every motor running at the same speed. I'd really like there to be separate VFD's.

Re: VFD"s #63098
03/06/06 09:32 PM
03/06/06 09:32 PM
DC10  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Wichita, KS
circuit man, I have seen it done but all the motors were working on the same load. We had a large diameter pipe puller with eight tractors each with its own motor. I am not sure that it would be a good idea if all the motors were not under the same load. If your loads are close enough together it might be better to link your gearboxes with driveshafts and run only one motor.

Re: VFD"s #63099
03/07/06 09:15 AM
03/07/06 09:15 AM
J
JBD  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 599
WI, USA
VFDs supply current. Simply add up all of the motor currents (do not use HP) and purchase a single drive of at least that size. Check with the VFD manufacturer, it would be normal for them to require some type of load reactor/filter (maybe even one per motor).

Also each motor will require it's own overload protection.

All motors need to start at the same time, do not have the VFD "at speed" and then turn on motors. This is called "slamming" and requires more complicated sizing.

Re: VFD"s #63100
03/07/06 04:32 PM
03/07/06 04:32 PM
Alan Belson  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,803
Mayenne N. France
Have you tried smaller diameter mops?


Wood work but can't!
Re: VFD"s #63101
03/07/06 06:21 PM
03/07/06 06:21 PM
C
circuit man  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 273
saluda,s.c.
hi guys! thanks for all the info.we can't use a single motor because it's a revolving table.the motors all start at once.there connected by a collector ring.what's a mop?

Re: VFD"s #63102
03/07/06 07:18 PM
03/07/06 07:18 PM
Alan Belson  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,803
Mayenne N. France
circuit man. I imagined, from your description, a machine using 'mops' or rag-wheels to polish stainless-steel components. Reducing the 'mop' diameter reduces the peripheral speed.

Alan


Wood work but can't!

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
akmaster
akmaster
alaska
Posts: 70
Joined: June 2012
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 7
Popular Topics(Views)
251,660 Are you busy
188,793 Re: Forum
178,511 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.029s Queries: 14 (0.004s) Memory: 1.0096 MB (Peak: 1.1857 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-21 12:08:19 UTC