ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Recall Notice Kidde Smoke Alarms
by dougwells. 03/22/18 01:40 PM
by HotLine1. 03/22/18 09:08 AM
Recall notice: Southwire wi-fi wall switches
by sparkyinak. 03/15/18 06:03 PM
Goodman Manufacturing Recalls Modular Blowers
by Admin. 03/13/18 10:40 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
SE cable question
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 42 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Trouble with a sub-panel #62619
02/22/06 10:07 AM
02/22/06 10:07 AM
Steven94134  Offline OP
Junior Member
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
San Francisco, CA, USA
I am currently working on a remodel on a residential property with multiple buildings. The main house was built pre-1906 with tube and knob system (2 hot and neutral). The building I am working on is a cottage located about 100 feet away from the main house where its electricity originates. The house's main panel has 4 double pole breakers, each feeding a sub-panel.
On the service are the three cables as expected. The three lines that feed the cottage travel through a plastic conduit up the side of the building, across to opposite end on the house and up to a gooseneck and back down another plastic conduit into the ground then ground where it travels under a swimming pool over to the sub-panel in the cottage. At the gooseneck there is an additional cable (green insulated which must be a ground).
The owners have been having problems with the electrical for some time and I have found numerous issues with the wiring and made those changes. I have replaced the sub-panel with a newer model. The 4 that enter the building are connected to appropriate spots, (the two hot cables to a 100 Amp circuit breaker, neutral to the neutral bus and the last to the ground bus. The neutral is un-bonded.
When tested the 2-poles test correctly but I also have 120 across the neutral and ground. I decided to add another grounding rod at the cottage to be sure that the sub-panel is in fact grounded but still have the same test results and when I use a plug tester on the receptacles I all three lights light up.
Any suggestions?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Trouble with a sub-panel #62620
02/22/06 10:19 AM
02/22/06 10:19 AM
watthead  Offline
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 172
South Carolina
If you feel like you are over your head here you probably are. If you are a contractor, why haven't you called an electrician? You don't really want the liability on this one do you?

Re: Trouble with a sub-panel #62621
02/22/06 11:01 AM
02/22/06 11:01 AM
Radar  Offline
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 349
Los Angeles, CA
Ditto Watthead.
but I also have 120 across the neutral and ground.

This can lead to a disaster, and right now, your name is on the liability list, even though you didn't cause the initial problem. You should call an electrician asap.


There are 10 types of people. Those who know binary, and those who don't.
Re: Trouble with a sub-panel #62622
02/22/06 11:27 AM
02/22/06 11:27 AM
Roger  Offline
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,716
To add to Wattheads and Radars posts, a ground rod will have no effect on your problem, you need to get an electrician involved.



2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman


Member Spotlight
Brick, NJ USA
Posts: 6,936
Joined: April 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 5
Trumpy 5
Popular Topics(Views)
244,860 Are you busy
181,978 Re: Forum
172,015 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.023s Queries: 14 (0.005s) Memory: 0.9600 MB (Peak: 1.0906 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-03-23 01:35:39 UTC