ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
Question on power to 4 Nema 6-50 & 5 Nema 5-15.
by TrickedoutTech. 10/22/17 11:36 PM
VFD MotorFeeders
by Yoopersup. 10/22/17 07:52 PM
Generator Cable Sizing
by brsele. 10/18/17 07:39 PM
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 01:08 AM
Good ol' copper pipe in the fuse holder trick
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:16 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,462 Are you busy
177,457 Re: Forum
169,029 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 29 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#61236 - 01/19/06 08:08 PM Wiring older 3 wire electric ranges and dryers.  
Trick440  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 248
Waterford, MI, USA
I had to change out old 3 wire to updated 4 wire on a range and dryer. I also had to change the cord.

When hooking the cord up, I was expecting to see some kind of termination for the ground wire. there wasn't so I just screwed a ground lug onto the dryer/range and hooked it up there.

The thought crossed my mind to just hook the ground and nuetrals together. but naw... there subfed panels w/ grounds & nuetrals seperated.

Just wanted to check if I did it right or if I could of just hooked them up together.


Shake n Bake

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#61237 - 01/19/06 08:37 PM Re: Wiring older 3 wire electric ranges and dryers.  
trekkie76  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 220
baileyville, maine, usa
usually there is a bonding strap between the neutral and the frame that has to be removed. I cant believe there wasnt one on either appliance. Even if the circuits came from the main panel, you shouldnt hook the grounds and neutrals together on an applicance. I would double check that you dont have a jumper still in place, they are hard to see sometimes.


#61238 - 01/19/06 09:45 PM Re: Wiring older 3 wire electric ranges and dryers.  
LK  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,429
New Jersey
What did the manufactures instructions say ?

Every appliance we hook-up we read the manufactures instructions, and leave it on the appliance for the inspector, as noted in the previous post, the jumper must be removed, and on the instructions they indicate where the ground wire is to be connected.


#61239 - 01/20/06 02:13 AM Re: Wiring older 3 wire electric ranges and dryers.  
Larry Fine  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 693
Richmond, VA
Mopar man, were you converting an older, 3-wire dryer to connect to a newer, 4-wire circuit, or the other wat around?


Larry Fine
Fine Electric Co.
fineelectricco.com

#61240 - 01/20/06 08:41 PM Re: Wiring older 3 wire electric ranges and dryers.  
ShockMe77  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 821
Rahway, New Jersey
Where I work, if the existing double pole 40 or 50 amp circuit ampacity is sufficient for the new appliance, then we re-use the the feed and leave the bonding strap in place and install (1) new 3-wire cord and receptacle.

[This message has been edited by ShockMe77 (edited 01-20-2006).]


#61241 - 01/20/06 09:43 PM Re: Wiring older 3 wire electric ranges and dryers.  
Trick440  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 248
Waterford, MI, USA
I'll look for that bonding strap. I certainly didn't see one there.

I was connecting an older 3 wire dryer to the new 4 wire.

The 3 wire feed was required to be on a 4 wire. Was a subfed panel.

I'm thinging there was not bonding strap though.. they made them with bonding straps back then?


Shake n Bake

#61242 - 01/21/06 12:08 AM Re: Wiring older 3 wire electric ranges and dryers.  
Rewired  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 558
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Off topic but i just heard "Mopar" and someone here is " Trick 440"..


I hear REAL horsepower [Linked Image]

A.D


#61243 - 01/21/06 12:40 PM Re: Wiring older 3 wire electric ranges and dryers.  
Trick440  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 248
Waterford, MI, USA
oohh ya I was gonna say something about that...

Nope not that much Hp. Its for an ATV its a 400ex bored to a 440.... So ya no mopar here. [Linked Image]


Shake n Bake

#61244 - 01/22/06 12:22 AM Re: Wiring older 3 wire electric ranges and dryers.  
Larry Fine  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 693
Richmond, VA
Sorry. I envisioned a Hemi with a 6-pack.

Here's the lowdown: if you're using an existing circuit, you may use the 3-conductor cable as is, and change the socket (and cord, and appliance) to suit.

If it's a new circuit, it must be 4-wire, with matching socket and cord, and modified (or replaced) appliance.

I once had to delve deep into a dryer to find the white/green junction, in order to open it, because a 3-wire dryer was moved to a 4-wire location.

New appliances have a removeable neutral-to-case bonding strap or wire, and come with no cord, since they don't know where the appliance is going.


Larry Fine
Fine Electric Co.
fineelectricco.com

#61245 - 01/22/06 10:17 PM Re: Wiring older 3 wire electric ranges and dryers.  
Speedy Petey  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 173
Upstate, NY
Quote
"The 3 wire feed was required to be on a 4 wire. Was a subfed panel."

The old dryer is of no consequence. It is only a "3-wire dryer" because that is what cord was put on it.
The circuit determines what cord to put on.

Most dryers I have seen have had a green wire run from the grounding screw into the wiring harness where it was bonded to the neutral.
I just remove the wire, cut off the fork terminal and cap off the wire securely.
Then the cord gets wired typically with the green from the cord to the ground screw on the chassis.


Speedy Petey

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new." -Albert Einstein


Member Spotlight
Posts: 165
Joined: March 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.026s Queries: 14 (0.006s) Memory: 0.8108 MB (Peak: 0.9840 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-23 20:38:25 UTC